HC Deb 25 April 1932 vol 265 c28
48. Mr. BATEY

asked the Attorney-General if he can state the names of the members of the advisory committee for the appointing of magistrates in the county of Durham; and whether all the names suggested by the advisory committee were appointed in the recent batch of magistrates?

Captain AUSTIN HUDSON (Lord of the Treasury)

I have been asked to reply. My right hon. Friend desires me to say that he will circulate the names of the advisory committee in the OFFICIAL REPORT, and that the answer to the last part of the question is in the negative. The advisory committee consists of the following: Mrs. Gilliland, the Rev. E. Pace, D.D., W. N. Smith, Esq., Peter Lee, Esq., J. W. Foster, Esq., Thomas M. Sexton, Esq., Colonel Rowland Burdon, J. S. G. Pemberton, Esq., Colonel G. H. Stobart, Mrs. Shafto, O.B.E., Alderman Charles Macfarlane, Major Andrew Common, D.S.O.