HC Deb 21 April 1975 vol 890 cc1124-7

Motion made, and Question,

That, as from 16th April 1975—
  1. (1) the rate of the duty of excise charge-able under section 1 of the Finance Act 1964 on British spirits by virtue of Schedule 1 to the Finance Act 1973 and section 1(1) of the Finance Act 1974 shall be increased by £5.0800 per proof gallon;
  2. (2) the rates of the duties of customs charge-able under section 1 of the Finance Act 1964 on imported spirits other than perfumed spirits by virtue of Schedule 1 to the Finance Act 1973, section 1(2) of the Finance Act 1974 or any order made before that date under section 1(4) of the Finance Act 1973 shall each be increased—
  1. (a) in the case of spirits not comprised in sub-paragraph (b) below, by £5.0800 per proof gallon; and
  2. (b) in the case of liquers, cordials, mixtures and other preparations in bottle, entered in such manner as to indicate that the strength is not to be tested, by £6.8600 per liquid gallon;
but without prejudice to the powers conferred on the Treasury by section 1 of the Finance Act 1973. And it is hereby declared that it is expedient in the public interest that this Resolution should have statutory effect under the provisions of the Provisional Collection of Taxes Act 1968.—[Mr. Healey.]

put forthwith pursuant to Standing Order No. 94 (Ways and Means motions):—

The House divided: Ayes 287, Noes 15.

Dunn, James A. Kelley, Richard Roberts, Albert (Normanton)
Dunnett, Jack Kerr, Russell Roberts, Gwilym (Cannock)
Dunwoody, Mrs Gwyneth Kilroy-Silk, Robert Robertson, John (Paisley)
Eadie, Alex Lambie, David Roderick, Caerwyn
Edelman, Maurice Lamborn, Harry Rodgers, George (Chorley)
Edge, Geoff Lamond, James Rodgers, William (Stockton)
Edwards, Robert (Wolv SE) Leadbitter, Ted Rooker, J. W.
Ellis, John (Brigg & Scun) Lee, John Rose, Paul B.
Ellis, Tom (Wrexham) Lestor, Miss Joan (Eton & Slough) Ross, Rt Hon W. (Kilmarnock)
English, Michael Lever, Rt Hon Harold Rowlands, Ted
Ennals, David Lewis, Ron (Carlisle) Ryman, John
Evans, Fred (Caerphilly) Lipton, Marcus Sandelson, Neville
Evans, loan (Aberdare) Lomas, Kenneth Sedgemore, Brian
Evans, John (Newton) Loyden, Eddie Selby, Harry
Ewing, Harry (Stirling) Luard, Evan Shaw, Arnold (Ilford South)
Fernyhough, Rt Hon E. Lyon, Alexander (York) Sheldon, Robert (Ashton-u-Lyne)
Fitch, Alan (Wigan) Lyons, Edward (Bradford W) Shore, Rt Hon Peter
Fitt, Gerard (Belfast W) McElhone, Frank Short, Rt Hon E. (Newcastle C)
Flannery, Martin MacFarquhar, Roderick Short, Mrs Renee (Wolv NE)
Fletcher, Ted (Darlington) McGuire, Michael (Ince) Silkin, Rt Hon John (Deptford)
Foot, Rt Hon Michael Mackenzie, Gregor Silkin, Rt Hon S. C. (Dulwich)
Ford, Ben Mackintosh, John P. Silverman, Julius
Forrester, John Maclennan Robert Skinner, Dennis
Fowler, Gerald (The Wrekin) McMillan, Tom (Glasgow C) Small, William
Fraser, John (Lambeth, N'w'd) McNamara, Kevin Smith, John (N Lanarkshire)
Freeson. Reginald Madden, Max Spearing, Nigel
Garrett, John (Norwich S) Magee, Bryan Spriggs, Leslie
Garrett, W. E. (Wallsend) Maguire, Frank (Fermanagh) Stallard, A. W.
George, Bruce Mahon, Simon Stewart, Rt Hon M. (Fulham)
Gilbert, Dr John Mallalieu, J. P. W. Stoddart, David
Ginsburg, David Marks, Kenneth Stott, Roger
Golding, John Marquand, David Strang, Gavin
Gould, Bryan Marshall, Dr Edmund (Goole) Strauss, Rt Hon G. R.
Gourlay, Harry Marshall, Jim (Leicester S) Summerskill, Hon Dr Shirley
Graham, Ted Meacher, Michael Swain, Thomas
Grant, George (Morpeth) Mellish, Rt Hon Robert Taylor, Mrs Ann (Bolton W)
Grant, John (Islington C) Mikardo, Ian Thomas, Jeffrey (Abertillery)
Grocott, Bruce Millen, Bruce Thomas, Mike (Newcastle E)
Hamilton, W. W. (Central Fife) Miller, Dr M. S. (E Kilbride) Thomas, Ron (Bristol NW)
Hardy, Peter Miller, Mrs Millie (Ilford N) Thorne, Stan (Preston South)
Harrison, Walter (Wakefield) Mitchell, R. C. (Solon, Itchen) Tierney, Sydney
Hart, Rt Hon Judith Molloy, William Tinn, James
Hattersley, Rt Hon Roy Moonman, Eric Tomlinson, John
Hatton, Frank Morris, Alfred (Wythenshawe) Tomney, Frank
Hayman, Mrs Helene Morris, Charles R. (Openshaw) Torney, Tom
Healey, Rt Hon Denis Morris, Rt Hon J. (Aberavon) Varley, Rt Hon Eric G.
Heffer, Eric S. Moyle, Roland Wainwright, Edwin (Dearne V)
Hooley, Frank Mulley, Rt Hon Frederick Walden, Brian (B'ham, L'dyw'd)
Horam, John Murray, Rt Hon Ronald King Walker, Harold (Doncaster)
Howell, Denis (B'ham, Sm H) Newens, Stanley Walker, Terry (Kingswood)
Hoyle, Doug (Nelson) Noble, Mike Ward, Michael
Huckfield, Les Oakes, Gordon Watkins, David
Hughes, Rt Hon C. (Anglesey) Ogden, Eric Weetch, Ken
Hughes, Mark (Durham) O'Halloran, Michael Weitzman, David
Hughes, Robert (Aberdeen N) O'Malley, Rt Hon Brian Wellbeloved, James
Hughes, Roy (Newport) Orbach, Maurice White, Frank R. (Bury)
Hunter, Adam Orme, Rt Hon Stanley White, James (Pollok)
Irvine, Rt Hon Sir A. (Edge Hill) Ovenden, John Whitlock, William
Irving, Rt Hon S. (Dartford) Owen, Dr David Willey, Rt Hon Frederick
Jackson, Colin (Brighouse) Padley, Walter Williams, Alan (Swansea W)
Jackson, Miss Margaret (Lincoln) Palmer, Arthur Williams, Alan Lee (Hornch'ch)
Janner, Greville Park, George Williams, Rt Hon Shirley (Hertford)
Jay, Rt Hon Douglas Parker, John Williams, W. T. (Warrington)
Jeger, Mrs Lena Parry, Robert Wilson, Rt Hon H. (Huyton)
Jenkins, Hugh (Putney) Pavitt, Laurie Wilson, William (Coventry SE)
Jenkins, Rt Hon Roy (Stechford) Peart, Rt Hon Fred Wise, Mrs Audrey
John, Brynmor Perry, Ernest Woodall, Alec
Johnson, James (Hull West) Phipps, Dr Colin Wool, Robert
Johnson, Walter (Derby S) Prentice, Rt Hon Reg Wrigglesworth, Ian
Jones, Alec (Rhondda) Price, C. (Lewisham W) Young, David (Bolton E)
Jones, Barry (East Flint) Price, William (Rugby)
Jones, Dan (Burnley) Radice, Giles TELLERS FOR THE AYES:
Judd, Frank Rees, Rt Hon Merlyn (Leeds S) Mr. Joseph Harper and
Kaufman, Gerald Richardson. Miss Jo Mr. James Hamilton
Brotherton, Michael Hutchison, Michael Clark Watt, Hamish
Crawford, Douglas Kimball, Marcus Welsh, Andrew
Ewing, Mrs Winifred (Moray) MacCormick, Iain Wilson, Gordon (Dundee E)
Fairbairn, Nicholas Morgan-Giles, Rear-Admiral
Gilmour, Sir John (East Fife) Stewart, Donald (Western Isles) TELLERS FOR THE NOES.
Gray, Hamish Thompson, George Mrs. Margaret Bain and
Mr. Douglas Henderson.

Question accordingly agreed to.