HC Deb 23 July 1952 vol 504 c519
29. Mr. Erroll

asked the Assistant Postmaster-General what changes have been made in the composition of the Post Office Advisory Council since 1st January, 1952.

The Assistant Postmaster-General (Mr. David Gammans)

Lady Megan Lloyd George, Mr. Connolly Gage, M.P. and Mr. M. K. Macmillan, M.P., have left the Council, and Mrs. Eveline Hill, M.P., Mr. Charles Hayward and Mr. William Ross, M.P., have joined it. My noble Friend has in mind the appointment of one or two additional members.

Mr. Erroll

When my hon. Friend is considering this matter with his noble Friend, will he take into account the advisability of appointing one or two ordinary people who can represent the point of view of the ordinary small user of postal facilities?

Mr. W. R. Williams

Can the Minister say whether in the proposed addition there will be representatives of the staffs in the Post Office in order that their collective experience will be available to the Postmaster-General in the formulative stage of his policy?

Mr. Gammans

I cannot yet say what will be the qualification of the additional members invited to join the Council.

Mr. W. R. Williams

I am asking the hon. Gentleman to express a view as to the desirability of some representatives of the staffs being among the additional members to this Advisory Council.