HC Deb 30 June 1942 vol 381 cc27-9
48. Sir Henry Morris-Jones

asked the Paymaster-General whether he has any statement to make about the Government's intention to set up a committee of inquiry into post-war reconstruction problems for Wales?

The Paymaster-General (Sir William Jowitt)

I am glad to be able to announce that the Government, after consultation with the Welsh Members of Parliament, have decided to appoint an Advisory Council on Welsh Reconstruction Problems with the following terms of reference:— To survey, in conformity with the general examination of reconstruction problems now being conducted by the Government, those problems of reconstruction which are of special application to Wales and Monmouthshire, and to advise on them. I will, with permission, circulate in the OFFICIAL REPORT a statement giving the constitution of the Committee, the chairmanship of which has been accepted by Principal J. F. Rees, M.A., Principal of the University College of South Wales and Monmouthshire. I should like to take this opportunity of thanking my hon. Friend and his colleagues for the great help they have given me in compiling the list of members.

Sir H. Morris-Jones

While I thank my right hon. and learned Friend for his reply, and for the attention he has given to this matter, can he tell us the approximate length of time this Council will sit?

Sir W. Jowitt

I cannot possibly give any time. It all depends upon the extent and nature of the problems which the Council will have to survey and undertake.

Viscountess Astor

As this matter is bound to affect women will my right hon. and learned Friend see that a properly qualified woman, not just a woman, is put on the Council?

Sir W. Jowitt

It is difficult for me to say what constitute the proper qualifications for a woman, but a member of this Council does possess medical qualifications.

Viscountess Astor

It is not medical qualifications I am referring to. I want a woman, not necessarily a Member of the House of Commons, but a properly qualified woman, who is interested in the subject, to be on the Council.

Following is the list:

Principal J. F. Rees, M.A. (Chairman).

Mr. D. M. Evans Bevan. Mrs. Clement Davies. Mr. James Griffiths, M.P. Mr. F. W. R. Harrison, B.Sc. Mr. J. Lloyd Humphreys. Dr. T. J. Jenkin, D.Sc. Mr. William Jones, C.B.E. Mr. David Lewis. Mr. Herbert Henry Merrett. Professor D. Hughes Parry, M.A., LL.M. Dr. Laura G. Rees. Sir Robert J. Webber, J.P. Mr. Evan Williams, J.P. Professor W. M. Williams, M.A. Mr. dough Williams-Ellis, F.R.I.B.A. Mr. William Thomas (Secretary.)