HC Deb 29 June 1938 vol 337 cc2076-9

11.37 p.m.

Mr. Alexander

I beg to move, in page 51, line 13, to leave out "transported or".

I have put down two Amendments to the same line of the Bill, one dealing with transport and the other with insurance. I do not wish to detain the House on the point, because it was discussed in another form on a new Clause moved by the hon. and learned Member for Ashford (Mr. Spens). While we are to negotiate—at least I hope we are to negotiate—as to how this is to be read in the future, I must, because of my own views and my instructions in the matter, divide the House upon one or other of these Amendments as a matter of principle. I am moving the first one, dealing with transport, but let it be understood that if we divide only once it is in order to save the time of the House.

Question put, "That the words proposed to be left out stand part of the Bill."

The House divided: Ayes, 188; Noes, 95.

Division No. 262.] AYES. 11.37 p.m.
Acland, R. T. D. (Barnstaple) Erskine-Hill, A. G. Nall, Sir J.
Acland-Troyte, Lt.-Col. G. J. Everard, W. L. Naven-Spence, Major B. H. H.
Adams, S. V. T. (Leeds, W.) Fildes, Sir H. Nicholson, G. (Farnham)
Agnew, Lieut.-Comdr. P. G. Fremantle, Sir F. E. Nicolson, Hon. H. G.
Albery, Sir Irving Furness, S. N. Peat, C. U
Allen, Col. J. Sandeman (B'knhead) Fyfe, D. P. M. Perkins, W. R. D.
Anstruther-Gray, W. J. George, Major G. Lloyd (Pembroke) Patherick, M.
Aske, Sir R. W. George, Megan Lloyd (Anglesey) Pilkington, R.
Assheton, R. Gibson, Sir C. G. (Pudsey and Otley) Ponsonby, Col. C. E.
Astor, Viscountess (Plymouth, Sutton) Gledhill, G. Porritt, R. W.
Barclay-Harvey, Sir C. M. Glyn, Major Sir R. G. C. Pownall, Lt.-Col. Sir Assheton
Beaumont, Hon. R. E. B. (Portsm'h) Grant-Ferris, R. Procter, Major H. A.
Beechman, N. A. Greene, W. P. C. (Worcester) Radford. E. A.
Beit, Sir A. L. Gridley, Sir A. B. Raikes, H. V. A. M.
Bernays, R. H. Griffith, F. Kingsley (M'ddl'sbro, W.) Ramsay, Captain A. H. M.
Birchall, Sir J. D. Grimston, R. V. Ramsbotham, H.
Bower, Comdr. R. T. Guest, Lieut.-Colonel H. (Drake) Rathbone, J. R. (Bodmin)
Boyce, H. Leslie Gunston, Capt. Sir D. W. Reed, A. C. (Exeter)
Brown, Col. D. C. (Hexham) Hombro, A. V. Reid, W. Allan (Derby)
Browne, A. C. (Belfast, W.) Harbord, A. Remer, J. R.
Bull, B. B. Harvey, T. E. (Eng. Univ's.) Rickards, G. W. (Skipton)
Burghley, Lord Haslam, Henry (Horncastle) Ropner, Colonel L.
Butcher, H. W. Heilgers, Captain F. F. A. Ross Taylor, W. (Woodbridge)
Campbell, Sir E. T. Hepburn, P. G. T. Buchan Rowlands, G.
Cary, R. A. Hepworth, J. Royds, Admiral Sir P. M. R.
Cayzer, Sir H. R. (Portsmouth, S.) Herbert, Major J. A. (Monmouth) Ruggles-Brise, Colonel Sir E. A.
Cazalet, Thelma (Islington, E.) Herbert, Capt. Sir S. (Abbey) Russell, Sir Alexander
Cazalet, Capt. V. A. (Chippenham) Higgs, W. F. Russell, S. H. M. (Darwen)
Channon, H. Holmes, J. S. Scott, Lord William
Chapman, A. (Rotherglen) Hope, Captain Hon. A. O. J. Selley, H. R.
Christie, J. A. Hopkinson, A. Shaw, Major P. S. (Wavertree)
Clarke, Colonel R. S. (E. Grinstead) Hudson, Capt. A. U. M. (Hack., N.) Shepperson, Sir E. W.
Clarry, Sir Reginald Hunter, T. Shute, Colonel Sir J. J.
Cobb, Captain E. C. (Preston) Hutchinson, G. C. Sinclair, Col. T. (Queen's U. B'lf'st)
Cellos, Major W. P. Joel, D. J. B. Smith, Bracewell (Dulwich)
Colman, N. C. D. Jones, L. (Swansea W.) Somerset, T.
Colville, Rt. Hon. John Keeling, E. H. Southby, Commander Sir A. R. J.
Conant, Captain R. J. E. Kerr, J. Graham (Scottish Univs.) Spans, W. P.
Cook, Sir T. R. A. M. (Norfolk, N.) Lamb, Sir J. Q. Strauss, H. G. (Norwich)
Cooke, J. D. (Hammersmith, S.) Latham, Sir P. Tate, Mavis C.
Courthope, Col. Rt. Hon. Sir G. L. Law, R. K. (Hull, S.W.) Taylor, C. S. (Eastbourne)
Crooke, Sir J. Smedley Lennox-Boyd, A. T. L. Thomas, J. P. L.
Cross, R. H Levy, T. Thomson, Sir J. D. W.
Crowder, J. F. E. Liddall, W. S. Thorneycroft, G. E. P.
Cruddas, Col. B. Lindsay, K. M. Turton, R. H.
Culverwell, C. T. Lipson, D. L. Walker-Smith, Sir J.
Davies, C. (Montgomery) Llewellin, Colonel J. J. Ward, Lieut.-Col. Sir A. L. (Hull)
Davies, Major Sir G. F. (Yeovil) Locker-Lampson, Comdr. O. S. Ward, Irene M. B. (Wallsend)
Donner, P. W. Mebane, W. (Huddersfield) Warrender, Sir V.
Dorman-Smith, Major Sir R. H. McCorquodale, M. S. Waterhouse, Captain C.
Dower, Major A. V. G. McEwen, Capt. J. H. F. Watt, Major G. S. Harvie
Drewe, C. McKie, J. H. Wells, Sir Sydney
Duckworth, Arthur (Shrewsbury) Macnamara, Major J. R. L. Whiteley, Major J. P. (Buckingham)
Duckworth, W. R. (Moss Side) Margesson, Capt. Rt. Hon. H. D. R. Wickham, Lt.-Col. E. T. R.
Dunglass, Lord Markham, S. F. Williams, H. G. (Croydon, S.)
Eastwood, J. F. Mayhew, Lt.-Col. J. Willoughby de Eresby, Lord
Eckersley, P. T. Mellor, Sir J. S. P. (Tamworth) Wise, A. R.
Edmondson, Major Sir J. Mills, Major J. D. (New Forest) Womersley, Sir W. J.
Elliot, Rt. Hon. W. E. Moreing, A. C. Wood, Hon. C. I. C.
Ellis, Sir G. Morgan, R. H. Wright, Wing-Commander J. A. C.
Elmley, Viscount Morris-Jones, Sir Henry
Emmott, C. E. G. C. Morrison, Rt. Hon. W. S. (Cirencester) TELLERS FOR THE AYES.—
Emrys-Evans, P. V. Mulrhead, Lt.-Col. A. J. Captain Dugdale and Lieut.-
Errington, E. Munro, P. Colonel Kerr.
Alexander, Rt. Hon. A. V. (H'lsbr.) Bromfield, W. Cocks, F. S.
Bonfield, J. W. Brown, C. (Mansfield) Collindridge, F.
Barnes, A. J. Buchanan, G. Daggar, G.
Batey, J. Burke, W. A. Dalton, H.
Benn Rt. Hon. W. W. Cassells, T. Davidson, J. J. (Maryhill)
Benson, G. Chater, D. Davies, S. O. (Merthyr)
Broad, F. A. Cluse, W. S. Day, H.
Debbie, W. Leach, W. Seely, Sir H. M.
Dunn, E. (Rother Valley) Leonard, W. Sexton, T. M.
Ede, J. C. Logan, D. G. Silkin, L.
Edwards, Sir C. (Bedwellty) Lunn, W. Simpson, F. B.
Green, W. H. (Deptford) Macdonald, G. (Ince) Smith, Ben (Rotherhithe)
Greenwood, Rt. Hon. A. McEntee, V. La T. Smith, E. (Stoke)
Grenfell, D. R. McGhee, H. G. Smith, T. (Normanton)
Griffiths, G. A. (Hemsworth) McGovern, J. Sorensen, R. W.
Griffiths, J. (Llanelly) Marshall, F. Stewart, W. J. (H'ght'n-le-Sp'ng)
Groves, T. E. Mathers, G. Stokes, R. R.
Hall, G. H. (Aberdare) Maxton, J. Taylor, R. J. (Morpeth)
Hall, J. H. (Whitechapel) Messer, F. Thurtle, E.
Hayday, A. Milner, Major J. Tinker, J. J.
Henderson, J. (Ardwick) Morrison, Rt. Hon. H. (Hackney, S.) Tomlinson, G.
Henderson, T. (Tradeston) Muff, G. Walkden, A. G.
Hills, A. (Pontefract) Oliver, G. H. Watkins, F. C.
Holdsworth, H. Paling, W. Watson, W. McL.
Jenkins, A. (Pontypool) Parker, J. Westwood, J.
Jenkins, Sir W. (Neath) Parkinson, J. A. Williams, E. J. (Ogmore)
John, W. Pearson, A. Williams, T. (Don Valley)
Jones, A. C. (Shipley) Pethick-Lawrence, Rt. Hon. F. W. Windsor, W. (Hull, C.)
Jones, Sir H. Haydn (Merioneth) Pritt, D. N. Woods, G. S. (Finsbury)
Jones, Morgan (Caerphilly) Richards, R. (Wrexham)
Kelly, W. T. Ritson, J. TELLERS FOR THE NOES—
Kirby, B. V. Robinson, W. A. (St. Helens) Mr. Adamson and Mr. Anderson.
Lawson, J. J. Russell, S. H. M. (Darwen)

Question put, and agreed to.

11.46 p.m.

Mr. W. S. Morrison

I beg to move, in page 51, line 14, at the end, to insert: and if any registered producer causes any pig to be transported or insured in contravention of any determination in force under this Section, the Pigs Marketing Board shall impose upon and shall recover from him a monetary penalty not exceeding one pound for each pig so transported or insured. At present no penalty is laid down in the Bill against any registered producer who contravenes the determination of the Pigs Marketing Board with regard to the terms on which pigs are transported or insured. The Amendment rectifies that omission.

Mr. Alexander

I am very much against this Amendment. I do not propose to divide the House again, but I protest against such a high penalty as is here laid down.

Amendment agreed to.