HC Deb 06 March 1934 vol 286 c1653
48. Mr. MARTIN

asked the Prime Minister the composition and terms of reference of the Royal Commission to be set up to inquire into the affairs of Durham University and its constituent colleges?


As my right hon. Friend has already announced, the Chairman of this Royal Commission will be Lord Moyne. The other members will be:

  • The Countess Grey,
  • Sir Ross Barker,
  • Major A. G. Church,
  • Dr. H. R. Dean,
  • The Rev. F. Homes Dudden,
  • Dr. T. F. Sibly and
  • Mr. W. Spens.
The Terms of Reference are: To inquire into the organisation and work of the University and its three constituent colleges and into the relation of the University to those colleges, and to report in what respects the present organisation can be improved and what changes if any are desirable in the constitutions functions, and powers of the University and its three constituent colleges.