HC Deb 18 November 1931 vol 259 cc828-9

asked the Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs the names of the countries, and their respective voting power, which constitute the final court of arbitration of the League of Nations; and whether, in view of the decision of the League of Nations in the Manchurian dispute, he will give this House an opportunity of debating and considering the attitude of His Majesty's Government at the earliest possible moment?


I am not quite sure what my hon. Friend means by the "final court of arbitration of the League of Nations," but if he is referring to the Council the following are the 14 countries at present represented on it: The United Kingdom, China, France, Germany, Guatemala, the Irish Free State, Italy. Japan, Norway, Panama, Peru, Poland, Spain and Yugoslavia. In accordance with paragraph 6 of Article 4 of the Covenant, each member of the League of Nations represented on the Council has one vote. As regards the last part of the question, the Manchurian dispute is at present under consideration by the Council of the League and no final decision has yet been taken. My right hon. Friend will, I am sure, be prepared to make a statement as soon as he is in a position to do so.


Can the Under-Secretary say how many of these States are in arrear with their subscriptions to the League?


I should require notice of that question.