HC Deb 02 June 1927 vol 207 cc525-7
10. Mr. HARRIS

asked the President of the Board of Education what is the constitution of the Board of Education at the present time; and how many times has the Board met during the lifetime of the present Government?

The PRESIDENT of the BOARD of EDUCATION (Lord Eustace Percy)

The Board consists of a President, the Lord President of the Council (unless he is appointed President of the Board), His Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State, the First Commissioner of His Majesty's Treasury, and the Chancellor of the Exchequer. The Board has not met during the period referred to, nor have I any record of a meeting of the Board.


Does not the Noble Lord think the time has arrived when the Board that is responsible for the administration of education should be done away with and that he should assume personal responsibility and get the status of Minister of Education? Would it not be more suitable?


That is a matter of opinion, but I do not think the hon. Member need be very much alarmed at the antiquated forms under which some of our business is carried on.


Does it matter what he is called as long as he does his job?

11. Mr. HARRIS

asked the President of the Board of Education what is the constitution of the Consultative Committee of the Board of Education; when were the present members appointed; how many subjects have been referred to the Consultative Committee since it was first constituted; is there at present any reference to the Sub-Committee and, if so, what are its terms; whether the Consultative Committee has the power to initiate inquiries or to make representations to the Board on educational matters; and whether the Board has ever received representations from the Consultative Committee apart from matters referred by the Board to the Committee?


The Committee consists of 21 members, of whom not less than two-thirds must be persons qualified to represent the views of universities and other bodies interested in education. I am circulating in the OFFICIAL REPORT the names of the present members with the dates of their appointments. Fourteen subjects have been referred to the Committee since its establishment. I do not know to what Sub-Committee the hon. Member refers in the fourth part of the question, but I am also circulating in the OFFICIAL REPORT the present terms of reference to the Committee. As regards the last two parts of the question, the Committee is established by statute for the purpose of advising the Board of Education on any matter referred to it by the Board, but it is open to the Committee to make suggestions both as to the subjects of major importance to be referred to them, and also as to subjects of minor but more immediate importance which might form the subject of discussion between them and myself and officers of the Board. Advantage has been taken and will, I hope, increasingly be taken. of the opportunities thus afforded of securing close contact between the Committee and the Board.


Does the Consultative Committee meet at regular intervals at its own discretion or is it summoned by the President?


They arrange their own meetings.

Following is the information:

The following are the present members with their dates of appointment:

Members and Date of Appointment.

Sir W. H. Hadow, C.B.E., D.Mus. (Chairman).—15th July, 1922.

Sir Graham Balfour, LL.D.—21st October, 1926.

Principal Ernest Barker, LL.D., D.Litt.—15th July, 1922.

Mr. W. A. Brockington, O.B.E.—16th July, 1926.

Miss E. R. Conway, C.B.E.—16th July, 1926.

Mr. H. W. Cousins, M.Sc.—8th December, 1922.

Rev. D. H. S. Cranage, D.Litt., F.S.A.—15th July, 1922.

Mr. Evan T. Davis.—16th July, 1926.

Miss Lynda Grier.—16th July, 1926.

Miss Freda Hawtrey.—16th July, 1926.

Alderman Sir Percy Jackson, LL.D., J.P.—15th July, 1922.

Mr. F. B. Malim.—16th July, 1926.

Mr. A. Mansbridge, D.Litt., LL.D—15th July, 1924.

Mr. A. J. Mundella.—15th July, 1922.

Miss E. M. Tanner.—15th July, 1924.

Mr. R. H. Tawney.—15th July, 1924.

Alderman S. Taylor, J.P.—15th July,1924.

Mr. T. M. Taylor, C.B.E.—11th October, 1926.

Mr. H. Ward, C.B.E.—16th July, 1926.

Alderman W. C. Watkins, J.P.—15th July, 1924.

Mr. J. A. White, M.B.E.—15th July, 1924.

With Mr. R. F. Young (Board of Education) as Secretary.