HC Deb 04 April 1919 vol 114 c1634

Ordered, That a Select Committee be appointed—

To examine the current Expenditure defrayed out of moneys provided by Parliament and to report what, if any, economies consistent with the execution of the policy decided by the Government may be effected therein:

To make recommendations in regard to the form of Public Accounts, the system of control within the Departments and by the Treasury, and the procedure of this House in relation to Supply and Appropriation, so as to secure more effective control by Parliament over Public Expenditure; and to have power to appoint from outside its own body such additional persons as it may think fit to serve on any Sub-Committee which it may appoint with a view to the preparation of such recommendations.—[Colonel Gibbs.]

Ordered, That the Committee do consist of Twenty-six Members.

Committee accordingly nominated of Mr. Armitage, Sir Frederick Banbury, Mr. Beckett, Colonel Godfrey Collins, Sir William Howell Davies, Colonel Gretton, Mr. Thomas Griffiths, Major Lloyd-Greame, Mr. Gwynne, Sir Charles Henry, Mr. Home, Colonel Jackson, Sir Edgar Jones, Mr. Kiley, Mr. Lonsdale, Mr. Lunn, Mr. Marriott, Mr. Frederick Roberts, Mr. T. Robinson, Colonel Stephenson, Colonel Wedgwood, Colonel Weigall, Mr. Aneurin Williams, Colonel Sir Robert Williams, Mr. Tyson Wilson, and Mr. Wilson-Fox.

Ordered, That the Committee have power to send for persons, papers, and records.

Ordered, That the Committee, have leave to report from time to time.

Ordered, That Five be the quorum.—[Colonel Gibbs.]

Whereupon Mr. DEPUTY-SPEAKER adjourned the House, without Question put, pursuant to Standing Order No. 3.

Adjourned at eight minutes after Five o'clock.