HC Deb 14 March 1913 vol 50 c671

Ordered, That a Select Committee be appointed to inquire whether any responsibility rests upon the British directors of the Peruvian Amazon Company in respect of the atrocities in the Putumayo district, and whether any changes in the Law are desirable to prevent the machinery of the Companies Acts being used in connection with similar practices in foreign countries:

Ordered, That the Committee do consist of Fifteen Members:

Ordered, That Mr. Carr-Gomm, Mr. Dickinson, Mr. Hastings Duncan, Sir Thomas Esmonde, Mr. Douglas Hall, Mr. Joynson-Hicks, Sir Clement Hill, Mr. King, Mr. Swift MacNeill, Mr. Malcolm, Mr. Jowett, Mr. Charles Roberts, Lord Alexander Thynne, Mr. Wright, and Mr. William Young be Members of the Committee.

Ordered, That the Committee have power to send for persons, papers, and records:

Ordered, That the Committee have leave to hear Counsel to such extent as they shall see fit:

Ordered, That Five be the quorum.—[Mr. Gulland.]