HC Deb 21 April 1913 vol 52 cc22-3 P

asked the Secretary to the Treasury if he will state in which counties, and county boroughs in Ireland panels of doctors have been formed in connection with the National Insurance Act; and if he can explain why circulars were issued by the Irish Insurance Commissioners stating that panels had been formed in every county and county borough in Ireland when panels had not-been formed in many cases?


I am informed by the Irish Insurance Commissioners that no such circulars as are referred to in the question have been issued by the Commissioners. I understand the hon. Baronet to refer to a paragraph in a specimen copy of a form that is intended to be used when the panel system is workings, which was issued to doctors for the purpose of explaining their duties under the panel system. That it was not intended as a statement that panels had already been formed is shown not only by the character of the form, but by the fact that it was issued to the doctors (who alone received it) before the date by which they were asked to have sent in their P names for the panels. I am informed by the Commissioners that sufficient doctors have already intimated their willingness to serve to enable panels to be formed in the following areas:—

County Boroughs.—Belfast, Cork, Londonderry.

Counties.—Antrim, Armagh, Clare, Cork, Donegal, Down, Fermanagh, Londonderry, Longford, Mayo, Monaghan, Sligo.