HC Deb 29 March 1911 vol 23 c1310

asked the Parliamentary Secretary to the Board of Agriculture whether he could give the names of the agricultural colleges who would carry out the experiments for the Board as to the growing of sugar beet, and the area each would grow?


Five acres of sugar beet will be grown at each of the following institutions: South-Eastern Agricultural College, Wye Royal Agricultural College, Cirencester; Harper Adams Agricultural College, Newport, Salop; Midland Agricultural and Dairy College, Kingston, Derby; County Technical Laboratories, Chelmsford. Three acres will be grown at the Agricultural Institute, Ridgmont, and two acres at the Seale Hayne Agricultural College, Newton Abbot.