HC Deb 24 September 1909 vol 11 cc821-2

2. That there shall be charged on the Consolidated Fund in every financial year, and paid into a separate account to be appropriated towards the development of roads, a sum equal to the net proceeds in each year of any duties on motor spirit imposed by any Act of the present Session, and the net proceeds in each year of the duties on licences for motor cars which are affected by any such Act, and the net proceeds of the duties shall be taken to be the gross proceeds of the duties subject to deductions for cost of collection, and for any payments into any local taxation account or to any county council (including the council of a county borough), in respect of the proceeds of the duties or any deficiency of those proceeds.

motor cars imposed by any Act of the present Session be levied by county councils (including the councils of county boroughs) and paid into the Exchequer, and that an annual sum be paid out of the Consolidated Fund to county councils in Ireland in connection therewith.

Motion made and Question proposed, "That the House do agree with the Committee in said Resolution."

Question put.

The House divided: Ayes, 48; Noes, 11.

Division No. 727.] AYES. [12.10 p.m.
Bennett, E. N. Jones, Leif (Appleby) Russell, Rt. Hon. T. W.
Brigg, John Kelley, George D. Samuel Rt. Hon. H. L. (Cleveland)
Clancy, John Joseph Lloyd-George, Rt. Hon. David Schwann, Sir C. E. (Manchester)
Corbett, A. Cameron (Glasgow) Lockwoad, Rt. Hon. Lt.-Col. A. R. Stewart-Smith, D. (Kendal)
Crosfield, A. H. Mackarness, Frederic C. Summerbell, T.
Elibank, Master of MacVeigh, Charles (Donegal, E.) Walsh, Stephen
Everett, R. Lacey Marnham, F. J. Warner, Thomas Courtenay T.
Findlay, Alexander Menzies, Sir Walter Wason, Rt. Hon. E. (Clackmannan)
Gill, A. H. Muldoon, John Wason, John Cathcart (Orkney)
Gwynn, Stephen Lucius Myer, Horatio Watt, Henry A.
Harcourt, Robert V. (Montrose) O'Brien, Patrick (Kilkenny) White, Sir George (Norfolk)
Hart-Davies, T. O'Malley, William White, Sir Luke (York, E. R.
Healy, Timothy Michael Parker, James (Halifax) Wilson, P. W. (St. Pancras, S.)
Helme, Norval Watson Pointer, J. Winfrey, R.
Henderson, Arthur (Durham) Roberts, Charles H. (Lincoln)
Howard, Hon. Geoffrey Robson, Sir William Snowdon TELLERS FOR THE AYES.—Mr. Joseph Pease and Captain Norton.
Jones, Sir D. Brynmor (Swansea) Rowlands, J.
Carson, Rt. Hon. Sir Edward H. Newdegate, F. A. Tuke, Sir John Batty
Castlereagh, Viscount Pease, Herbert Pike (Darlington)
Clyde, J. Avon Ronwick, George TELLERS FOR THE NOES.—Captain
Faber, George Denison (York) Roberts, S. (Sheffield, Ecclesall) Faber and Mr. Rawlinson.
Forster, Henry William Stanley, Hon. Arthur (Ormskirk)

Resolution agreed to.

Resolutions [23rd September] reported.