HC Deb 02 November 1909 vol 12 cc1785-6

This Act may be cited as the House Letting and Rating (Scotland) Act, 1909.

Lords Amendment: Leave out "House" and insert "Small Dwelling-Houses in Burghs."

be failing in our duty to our constituents as honourable and straightforward men if we do not take our courage in both hands and go into the Division Lobby and say we, for our part, having pledged ourselves to do what we could to put into real practical operation a remedy for a grievance felt in a way which English Members cannot possibly understand, will not be responsible for the Bill as it has come back to us.

Question put, "That the word 'now' stand part of the question."

The House divided: Ayes, 77; Noes, 20.

Division No. 890.] AYES. [12.10 a.m.
Ainsworth, John Stirling Dewar, Arthur (Edinburgh, S.) Markham, Arthur Basil
Armitage, R. Dewar, Sir J. A. (Inverness-sh.) Murray, Capt. Hon. A. C. (Kincard.)
Balcarres, Lord Dickson, Rt. Hon. Charles Scott Newnes, F. (Notts, Bassetlaw)
Balfour, Robert (Lanark) Douglas, Rt. Hon. A. Akers- Paulton, James Mellor
Banbury, Sir Frederick George Esslemont, George Birnie Pearce, Robert (Staffs, Leek)
Banner, John S. Harmood- Evans, Sir Samuel T. Pirie, Duncan V.
Baring, Godfrey (Isle of Wight) Falconer, James Price, C. E. (Edinburgh, Central)
Barker, Sir John Ferguson, R. C. Munro Radford, G. H.
Beale, W. P. Findlay, Alexander Rea, Waiter Russell (Scarborough)
Beauchamp, E. Forster, Henry William Rendall, Athelstan
Bennett, E. N. Fuller, John Michael F. Rogers, F. E. Newman
Bignold, Sir Arthur Guiland, John W. Rutherford, Watson (Liverpool)
Bryce, J. Annan Hamilton, Marquess of Seely, Colonel
Burns, Rt. Hon. John Harcourt, Rt. Hon. L. (Rossendale) Sherwell, Arthur James
Carlile, E. Hildred Harmsworth, Cecil B. (Worc'r.) Tennant, H. J. (Berwickshire)
Causton, Rt. Hon. Richard Knight Hedges, A. Paget Trevelyan, Charles Philips
Channing, Sir Francis Allston Higham, John Sharp Ure, Rt. Hon. Alexander
Cherry, Rt. Hon. R. R. Hobhouse, Rt. Hon. Charles E. H. Valentia, Viscount
Clyde, James Avon Holt, Richard Durning Wason, Rt. Hon. E. (Clackmannan)
Coates, Major E. F. (Lewisham) Howard, Hon. Geoffrey Wason, John Cathcart (Orkney)
Cochrane, Hon. Thomas H. A. E. Jones, Leif (Appleby) Wiles, Thomas
Corbett, C. H. (Sussex, E. Grinstead) Jones, William (Carnarvonshire) Wilson, Henry J. (York, W. R.)
Craik, Sir Henry Laidlaw, Robert Younger, George
Crosfield, A. H. Lamont, Norman
Cross, Alexander Lever, A. Levy (Essex, Harwich) TELLERS FOR THE AYES.—Mr. Joseph Pease and Captain Norton.
Dalziel, Sir James Henry Levy, Sir Maurice
Davies, David (Montgomery Co.) M'Callum, John M.
Abraham, William (Cork, N. E.) Nannetti, Joseph P. Taylor, John W. (Durham)
Barnes, G. N. Parker, James (Halifax) Walsh, Stephen
Bowerman, C. W. Pointer, Joseph Wilkie, Alexander
Cleland, J. W. Richards, T. F. (Wolverhampton) Wilson, W. T. (Westhoughton)
Glover, Thomas Seddon, J.
Harcourt, Robert V. (Montrose) Shackleton, David James TELLERS FOR THE NOES.—Mr. George Roberts and Mr. Charles Duncan.
Hardie, J. Keir (Merthyr Tydvil) Summerbell, T.
MacVeagh, Jeremiah (Down, S.) Sutherland, J. E.

Main Question put, and agreed to.

House agreed with Lords Amendment.