HC Deb 30 March 1909 vol 3 cc182-3

asked what was the present strength of the Royal Irish Constabulary and what was the total of the quotas allowed for Ireland by the Constabulary Acts; whether the quotas had been reduced within the last five years; and, if so, by what number; whether there were any counties in which the quotas had been reduced within that period and which, nevertheless, had been charged with the cost of extra police; and, if so, what counties?


The total strength of sergeants and constables of the Royal Irish Constabulary on 28th February last was 10,222, including a free force of 8,553. Under the Constabulary (Ireland) Redistribution Act, 1885, the Lord-Lieutenant may triennially vary the free quota for each county, city, and town to such number as he may consider to be required, so that the total number shall not exceed 10,006. At the redistribution of 1906 the requirements of the several counties allowed of a reduction of 1,437 men being made in the total free quota. This reduction affected every county in Ireland. Additional police are now serving in the counties of Clare, Galway, King's County, Leitrim, Longford, Roscommon, Sligo, and Westmeath by virtue of proclamations under the Constabulary (Ireland) Act, 1836, and the counties of Antrim, Armagh, Cavan, Cork, Donegal, Down, Kildare, Kilkenny, Londonderry, Meath, Queen's County, Tipperary, and Tyrone have from time to time been charged for police drafted from other counties for temporary purposes.