HC Deb 15 July 1909 vol 7 cc2416-7


"That the Lords' Message of 8th July relating to Stage Plays (Censorship) be considered:

"That a Select Committee of five Members be appointed, to be joined with a like number of Lords, to inquire into the Censorship of Stage Plays as constituted by The Theatres Act, 1843, and into the operation of the Acts of Parliament relating to the licensing and regulation of theatres and places of public entertainment, and to report any alterations of the law or practice which may appear desirable:

"That a Message be sent to the Lords to acquaint them therewith:

"That Mr. Robert Harcourt, Mr. Hugh Law, Colonel Lockwood, Mr. A. E. W. Mason, and Mr. Herbert Samuel be Members of the Committee:

"That the Committee have power to send for persons, papers, and records:

"That Three be the quorum."—[Mr. Joseph Pease.]

Adjourned at Six minutes after Eleven o'clock.