HC Deb 26 February 1909 vol 1 c1085

moved that a Select Committee be appointed, to whom shall be referred all petitions presented to the House, with the exception of such as relate to private Bills; and that such Committee do classify and prepare abstracts of the same in such form and manner as shall appear to them best suited to convey to the House all requisite information respecting their contents, and do report the same from time to time to the House; and that the reports of the Committee do set forth in respect of each petition the number of signatures which are accompanied by addresses, and which are written on sheets headed in every case by the prayer of the petition; provided that on every separate sheet after the first the prayer may be reproduced in print or by other mechanical process. And that such Committee do have power to direct the printing in extenso of such petitions, or of such parts of petitions, as shall appear to require it. And that such Committee have power to report their opinion and observations thereupon to the House.

That the Committee do consist of Mr. Edward Barry, Mr. Burt, Mr. Charles Craig, Mr. Ellis Griffith, Mr. Leicester Harmsworth, Mr. Henniker Heaton, Mr. T. P. O'Connor, Mr. Walter Roch, Mr. Agar-Robartes, Sir Charles Shaw, Colonel Sandys, Lord Willoughby de Eresby, Mr. Wills, and Mr. Henry Joseph Wilson.

That three be the quorum.

Motion agreed to.

The House stood adjourned at Twenty-five Minutes after Five o'clock.