HC Deb 23 August 1909 vol 9 cc1899-901

(1) When an estate is purchased or agreed to be purchased by the Land Commission or the Congested Districts Board, any person having power under the Land Purchase Acts to enter into an agreement for the purchase of a holding on the estate shall have power in the prescribed manner to enter into an agreement with the Land Commission or the Congested Districts Board, as the case may be, for the exchange of the holding for any other holding which is in the opinion of the Commission or the Board of not less value than the original holding and to surrender the original holding to the Commission or the Board accordingly.

(2) Upon the surrender of a holding by any person under this Section all charges, liabilities, and equities affecting the tenant's interest in the holding shall, without any conveyance or order, be transferred to the interest acquired by that person in the new holding.

(3) The lands comprised in the original holding shall, notwithstanding the surrender of the holding, continue to be subject to all easements and profits a prendre to which they were subject at the time of the surrender.

(4) For the purpose of any application or order under Sub-section (6) of Section one of the Congested Districts Board (Ireland) Act, 1901, with respect to charges, liabilities, and equities affecting the tenant's interest in a holding, it shall not be necessary to specify the several charges, liabilities, and equities, or any of them.

Amendment proposed, at the end of the Clause, to add, "(5) When a holding to which any charges, liabilities, or equities have been transferred, whether under this Section or under Section one of the Congested Districts Board (Ireland) Act, 1901, is sold under the Land Purchase Acts, the particulars to be transmitted to the registering authority pursuant to Section thirty-two of the Act of 1896 shall include particulars of the original holding from which the charges, liabilities, or equities have been transferred, and where the registering authority in any such case dispenses with the ascertainment of burdens, the note which he is required to make under Sub-section three of Section twenty-nine of the Local Registration of Title (Ireland) Act, 1891, shall contain such modifications or additions as may be necessary for the purpose of protecting any transferred charges, liabilities, or equities."—[Mr. Birrell.]

Question put, "That the Amendment be made."

The Committee divided: Ayes, 180 Noes, 31.

Division No. 501.] AYES. [11.15 p.m
Abraham, W. (Cork, N. E.) Bryce, J. Annan Devlin, Joseph
Allen, A. Acland (Christchurch) Buckmaster, Stanley O. Dillon, John
Ambrose, Robert Burke, E. Haviland- Donelan, Captain A.
Armitage, R. Burns, Rt. Hon. John Duncan, C. (Barrow-in-Furness)
Baker Joseph A. (Finsbury, E.) Byles, William Pollard Duncan, J. Hastings (York, Otley)
Balfour, Robert (Lanark) Causton, Rt. Hon. Richard Knight Edwards, Sir Francis (Radnor)
Baring, Godfrey (Isle of Wight) Cherry, Rt. Hon. R. R. Esmonde, Sir Thomas
Barlow, Sir John E. (Somerset) Clancy, John Joseph Evans, Sir S. T.
Barnes, G. N. Collins, Stephen (Lambeth) Everett, R. Lacey
Barry, Redmond J. (Tyrone, N.) Cooper, G. J. Ffrench, Peter
Berridge, T. H. D. Corbett, C. H. (Sussex, E. Grinstead) Field, William
Bethell, T. R. (Essex, Maldon) Craig, Herbert J. (Tynemouth) Flavin, Michael Joseph
Birrell, Rt. Hon. Augustine Crooks, William Gill, A. H.
Black, Arthur w. Crosfield, A. H. Ginnell, L.
Boland, John Crossley, William J. Gladstone, Rt. Hon. Herbert John
Bowerman, C. W. Cullinan, J. Glendinning, R. G
Brodie, H. C. Davies, Timothy (Fulham) Glover, Thomas
Brunner, J. F. L. (Lancs., Leigh) Delany, William Goddard, Sir Daniel Ford
Gooch, George Peabody (Bath) M'Callum, John M. Radford, G. H.
Grey, Rt. Hon. Sir Edward M'Laren, Sir C. B. (Leicester) Reddy, M.
Gulland, John W. M'Micking, Major G. Redmond, John E. (Waterford)
Gwynn, Stephen Lucius Mallet, Charles E. Richards, T. F. (Wolverhampton, W.)
Harcourt, Robert V. (Montrose) Manfield, Harry (Northants) Roberts, Charles H. (Lincoln)
Harmsworth, R. L. (Caithness-shire) Marks, G. Croydon (Launceston) Robson, Sir William Snowdon
Harrington, Timothy Marnham, F J. Roche, Augustine (Cork)
Harvey, A. G. C. (Rochdale) Mason, A. E W. (Coventry) Roche, John (Galway, East)
Hayden, John Patrick Meehan, Patrick A. (Queen's Co.) Rowlands, J.
Hazel, Dr. A. E. W Molteno, Percy Alport Russell, Rt. Hon. T. W.
Hazleton, Richard Mooney, J. J. Samuel, Rt. Hon. H. L. (Cleveland)
Healy, Maurice (Cork) Morrell, Philip Samuel, S. M. (Whitechapel)
Healy, Timothy Michael Muldoon, John Scanlan, Thomas
Henderson, Arthur (Durham) Murnaghan, George Scarisbrick, Sir T. T. L.
Henry, Charles S. Murphy, John (Kerry, E.) Sears, J. E
Herbert, Col. Sir Ivor (Mon. S.) Mannetti, Joseph P. Seddon, J.
Hodge, John Napier, T. B. Shackleton, David James
Hogan, Michael Nicholls, George Sheehan, Daniel Daniel
Holt, Richard Durning Nolan, Joseph Shipman, Dr. John G.
Hope, W. H. B. (Somerset, N.) Nugent, Sir Walter Richard Smyth, Thomas F. (Leitrim, S.)
Horniman, Emslie John O'Brien, K. (Tipperary, Mid) Steadman, W. C.
Hudson, Walter O'Brien, Patrick (Kilkenny) Stewart, Halley (Greenock)
Hyde, Clarendon G. O'Connor, James (Wicklow, W.) Stewart-Smith, D. (Kendal)
Jackson, R. S. O'Connor, John (Kildare, N.) Strauss, E. A. (Abingdon)
Jones, William (Carnarvonshire) O'Donnell, C. J. (Walworth) Taylor, John W. (Durham)
Joyce, Michael O'Donnell, John (Mayo, S.) Tennant, H. J. (Berwickshire)
Kavanagh, Walter M. O'Donnell, T. (Kerry, W.) Thomasson, Franklin
Keating, M. O'Dowd, John Thorne, William (West Ham)
Kekewich, Sir George O'Grady, J Tomkinson, James
Kilbride, Denis O'Kelly, Conor (Mayo, N.) Trevelyan, Charles Philips
Lamont, Norman O'Kelly, James (Roscommon, N.) Ure, Rt. Hon. Alexander
Lardner, James Carrige Rushe O'Malley, William Ward, W. Dudley (Southampton)
Law, Hugh A. (Donegal, W.) O'Shaughnessy, P. J. Wardle, George J.
Lehmann, R. C. O'Shee, James John White, J. Dundas (Dumbartonshire)
Lewis, John Herbert Parker, James (Halifax) White, Patrick (Meath, North)
Lundon, T. Partington, Oswald Whitehead, Rowland
Luttrell, Hugh Fownes Pearce, Robert (Staffs, Leek) Whitley, John Henry (Haiifax)
Lyell, Charles Henry Philips, John (Longford, S.) Wiles, Thomas
Macdonald, J. R. (Leicester) Pickersgill, Edward Hare Wilson, W. T. (Westhoughton)
Mackarness, Frederic C. Pollard, Dr. G. H. Young, Samuel
MacNeill, John Gordon Swift Ponsonby, Arthur A. W. H.
MacVeagh, Jeremiah (Down, S.) Power, Patrick Joseph TELLERS FOR THE AYES.—Captain Norton and Mr. Fuller.
MacVeigh, Charles (Donegal, E.) Priestley, Sir W. E. B. (Bradford, E.)
Ashley, W. W. Gardner, Ernest Long, Rt. Hon. Walter (Dublin, S.)
Balcarres, Lord Gordon, J Lyttelton, Rt. Hon. Alfred
Banbury, Sir Frederick George Gretton, John Moore, William
Barrie, H. T. (Londonderry, N.) Guinness, Hon. R. (Haggerston) Percy, Earl
Butcher, Samuel Henry Haddock, George B. Powell, Sir Francis Sharp
Campbell, Rt. Hon. J. H. M. Hamilton, Marquess of Valentia, Viscount
Clive, Percy Archer Harrison-Broadley, H. B. Wyndham, Rt. Hon. George
Corbett, T. L. (Down, North) Hill, Sir Clement
Dickson, Rt. Hon. C. Scott- Kerry, Earl of
Fetherstonhaugh, Godfrey Keswick, William TELLERS FOR THE NOES.—Mr.Lonsdale and Mr. MacCaw.
Fletcher, J S. Lockwood, Rt. Hon. Lt.-Col. A. R.
Forster, Henry William Long, Col. Charles W. (Evesham)

Question, "That the Clause stand part of the Bill," put, and agreed to.