HC Deb 18 February 1907 vol 169 c544

I beg to ask the Under-Secretary of State for the Colonies if he is in a position to give the House the names of the Colonial statesmen delegated to the Colonial Conference, the date upon which the Conference will assemble, the order of the proceedings and the subjects which will be submitted to the Conference; and if the representatives of the Empire will be received, as on previous occasions, as guests of the nation; and upon what date such official visit will commence and terminate.


the names of the Prime Ministers who will represent the self-governing Colonies at the Colonial Conference are as follows:—Dominion of Canada, Sir Wilfrid Laurier; Newfoundland, Sir R. Bond; Commonwealth of Australia, Mr. Deakin; New Zealand, Sir J. G. Ward; Cape Colony, Mr. L. S. Jameson; Natal, Mr. F. R. Moor. Other Ministers expected to be present in this country in connection with the Conference are: From Canada, Mr. W. S. Fielding, Minister of Finance; Mr. W. Patterson, Minister of Customs; Sir F. W. Borden, Minister of Militia and Defence; Mr. L. P. Brodeur, Minister of Marine. From Australia, Sir W. Lyne, Minister of Customs, and from Capo Colony, Dr. Smartt, Commissioner of Works. Papers on the subject of the agenda for the Conference will be laid before the House during the present week. The Colonial representatives present for the Colonial Conference will be guests of the nation. It is too early is yet to state the precise date of the commencement and termination of their official visit; the Conference will open on the 15th April.

MR. AUSTIN TAYLOR (Liverpool, East Toxteth)

Can the hon. Gentleman say if, and how, India will be represented at the Conference?


India will be represented by the Secretary of State for India, or by some one deputed by him.