HC Deb 05 June 1905 vol 147 cc678-80
MR. LAMBERT (Devonshire, South Molton)

To ask the President of the Local Government Board if he will state the names of the forty-nine local authorities who have asked for a speed limit to be fixed under the Motor-Car Act; what are the names of the seventeen authorities who withdrew their applications; the reasons for such withdrawal; where the twelve local inquiries were held, and the two applications for a speed limit granted.

(Answered by Mr. Gerald Bat four.) The number of local authorities, under the Motor-Car Act, 1903, who have made application in pursuance of Sections 8 and 9 of the Act, is forty-seven, and inquiries have now been hold in thirteen eases. The names of these authorities are given in the following list. The mark* against the name of any authority shows that an inquiry has been held with regard to their application.

The County Councils of—
Anglesey Norfolk
Cumberland Parts of Holland
Denbigh Parts of Kesteven
Hunts Radnor
Isle of Ely West Sussex

* The Common Council of the City of London.

The Town Councils of—
*Beverley Maidstone
Bexhill Mossley
Blackpool Newbury
Bradford *Newport (Mon.)
*Bury Oxford
Chipping Wycombe Preston
Colchester St. Albans
Deal St. Helens
*Dover Stockport
Ealing Stoke-on-Trent
Gillingham *Todmorden
Guildford *Torquay
Harrogate Wallsend
Huddersfield Warwick
*Kingston on Thames * Whitehaven
*Leeds *Winchester
*Leigh Worthing

The names of the seventeen authorities who withdrew their applications are—

The County Councils of—
Cumberland Parts of Holland
Isle of Ely Parts of Kesteven
Port. 1901–2. 1902–3. 1903–4. 1904–5.
£ £ £ £
Bristol Channel Ports:—
Bristol 218 955 833 597
Cardiff 464,790 611,685 646,784 593,581
Gloucester 7 10 33
Llanelly 7,782 9,645 9,314 9,226
Milford 45 44 21
Newport 95,143 133,852 146,195 145,911
Port Talbot (included with Swansea prior to 1904–5) 33,857
Swansea 87,890 110,467 99,784 67,712
Total 655,875 866,658 902,931 850,923
The Town Councils of—
Blackpool Preston
Bradford St. Helens
Deal Stockport
Gillingham Stoke on Trent
Longton Wallsend
Maidstone Worthing

I am not in a position to give the reasons for the withdrawal of the applications in these cases. Orders were issued imposing a limit of five miles an hour in respect of specified parts of highways in the county of Middlesex and the borough of Beverley.