HC Deb 06 April 1905 vol 144 cc626-7
MR. SLOAN (Belfast, S.)

To ask the Chief Secretary to the Lord-Lieutenant of Ireland if he will explain what are the reasons for closing the Rathmolyon and Kildalkey police stations; to what barracks have the men been transferred; and if he can state the number of other stations closed, and in what counties, since 1903.

(Answered by Mr. Walter Long.) These stations were abolished because the necessity for them no longer existed. The authorities are satisfied that the requirements of the respective localities can be adequately met by the police at the adjacent stations, of which there are four within a radius of six miles of each of the places named. The police from Kildalkey have been transferred to Ballivor, Athboy, and Crossakiel, the two former being adjacent to Kildalkey; and those from Rathmolyon have been sent to Trim, Enfield, and Dunshaughlin, of which Trim and Enfield adjoin Rathmolyon. The number and situation of the stations closed since 1903 are as follows—

County. No.
Carlow 1
Cavan 4
Clare 3
Cork, E.R 6
Cork, W.R 6
Donegal 5
Down 1
Dublin 2
Galway, E.R 2
Galway, W.R. 2
Kerry 7
Kildare 5
Kilkenny 2
King's 6
Leitrim 3
Limerick 8
Longford 1
Louth 3
Mayo 4
Meath 11
Monaghan 2
Queen's 2
Roscommon 5
Sligo 5
Tipperary, N.R. 3
Tipperary, S.R. 2
Westmeath 2
Wexford 2
Wicklow 3
Total 108