HC Deb 04 July 1904 vol 137 cc454-5

To ask the Secretary of State for the Colonies whether he will give the names of the members of the Transvaal Legislative Council, mentioning the official positions occupied by some of them and the professions or avocations of the others, distinguishing those nominated by the High Commissioner from those elected, stating by whom they are elected and also when the life of the present Council expires.

(Answered by Mr. Secretary Lyttelton.) The annexed list shows the composition of the Legislative Council of the Transvaal so far as my information goes. I do not know the avocations of five members who were appointed as representing the various sections of the Boer population. Nor do I know the avocation of Mr. Raitt, who was appointed to represent

List of Members composing the Legislative Council.
Name. Official Position or Avocation.
The Hon. Sir Arthur Lawley, K.C.M.G. Lieutenant Governor.
Sir Richard Solomon, K.C.M.G. Attorney-General.
Patrick Duncan. Colonial Secretary.
Sir Godfrey Yeatman Lagden, K.C.M.G. Commissioner for Native Affairs.
W. L. Hitchens. Colonial Treasurer.
Horace Weldon Acting Commissioner of Mines.
A. Jameson. Commissioner of Lands.
J. F. Brown. Postmaster-General.
Dr. G. Turner. Medical Officer of Health for Transvaal.
J. W. Honey. Director of Customs.
Lieut.-Col. H. M. Jackson, R.E. Surveyor-General.
F. B. Smith. Director of Agriculture.
Fabian Ware Director of Education.
E. F. Bourke. Merchant.
J. C. Brink
A. P. J. Cronje
J. Z. de Villiers
T. Everard Farmer.
Sir G. Farrar, Kt., D.S.O. Mining Director.
Sir J. P. Fitzpatrick, Kt. Mining Director.
W. Hosken. Merchant.
H. C. Hull. Solicitor.
R. K. Loveday Landowner.
A. S. Rait.
P. Roux.
H. Solomon Stockbroker.
H. P. F. Janse van Rensburg