HC Deb 07 May 1902 vol 107 cc950-3
(2.20.) MR. A. J. BALFOUR

I beg to move the Resolution in my name as to the sitting of Committees tomorrow. I move it as it had been the practice for many years past, but I may add that it is not to be treated as a Government Motion, and the Government tellers will not tell for it.

Motion made and Question proposed, "That Committees do not sit Tomorrow, being Ascension Day, until Two of the Clock."—(Mr. A. J. Balfour.)


regretted that the right hon. Gentleman had felt it necessary to make this Motion. They were just starting under a new order of things, and he might have very well allowed it to drop. He yielded to no man in that House in his appreciation of the great Christian landmarks, but he did not think it necessary to signify his appreciation in such a manner as this. The Committees of the House were now in the flood tide of business, and it was most inconvenient thus to curtail their sittings. In particular the Standing Committee on Trade now engaged on the Licensing Bill had been obliged by this Motion to adjourn for a week. He hoped that, before another year, the right hon. Gentleman would reconsider this matter, and arrive at the conclusion that it was not necessary for him again to make the Motion.


thanked the First Lord of the Treasury for making the Motion. He hoped the House would not inaugurate the new Rules by the abandonment of these landmarks of the Christian religion, and that it would not signalise the Coronation

year by dropping this ancient practice.

MR. CHANNING (Northamptonshire, E.)

suggested that it might be as well that, instead of meeting at two o'clock, the Committees should not sit at all on Ascension Day.

(2.23.) Question put.

The House divided:—Ayes, 118; Noes, 72. (Division List No. 164.)

Abraham, William (Cork, N. E.) Hay, Hon. Claude George O'Brien, Patrick (Kilkenny)
Anson, Sir William Reynell Hayden, John Patrick O'Brien, P. J. (Tipperary, N.)
Anstruther, H. T. Hayter, Rt. Hon. Sir Arthur D. O'Donnell, T. (Kerry, W.)
Arkwright, John Stanhope Heaton, John Henniker O'Dowd, John
Austin, Sir John Hoare, Sir Samuel O'Shaughnessy, P. J.
Bain, Colonel James Robert Hogg, Lindsay Parker, Gilbert
Balfour, Rt. Hon. A. J.(Manch'r) Hope, J. F. (Sheffield, Brightside Percy, Earl
Balfour, Rt Hn Gerald W. (Leeds Horner, Frederick William Pilkington, Lieut—Col Richard
Barry, E. (Cork, S.) Houston, Robert Paterson Plummer, Walter R.
Beach, Rt. Hn. Sir Michael Hicks Howard, J.(Midd., Tottenham) Power, Patrick Joseph
Beresford, Lord Charles William Hutton, John (Yorks., N. R.) Pryce-Jones, Lt.-Col. Edward
Boland, John Johnston, William (Belfast) Purvis, Robert
Bond, Edward Joyce, Michael Reid, James (Greenock)
Boscawen, Arthur Griffith- Kennaway, Rt. Hon. Sir John H. Renwick, George
Brotherton, Edward Allen Law, Hugh Alex. (Donegal, W.) Ritchie, Rt. Hon. Chas. Thomson
Burke, E. Haviland- Leamy, Edmund Samuel, Harry S. (Limehouse)
Campbell, John (Armagh, S.) Leigh-Bennett, Henry Currie Sandys, Lieut.-Col. Thos. Myles
Carson, Rt. Hon. Sir Edw. H. Loder, Gerald Walter Erskine Sharpe, William Edward T.
Cavendish, R. F. (N. Lancs.) Long, Rt. Hn. Walter (Bristol, S) Sheehan, Daniel Daniel
Cavendish, V. C. W. (Derbyshire) Lowther, Rt. Hon. James (Kent) Sinclair, Louis (Romford)
Cecil, Lord Hugh (Greenwich) Lundon, W. Smith, H. C (North'mb, Tyneside
Chamberlain, J. Austen (Worc'r Macdona, John Cumming Spear, John Ward
Churchill, Winston Spencer MacIver, David (Liverpool) Stanley, Hon. Arthur (Ormskirk
Collings, Rt. Hon. Jesse MacVeagh, Jeremiah Stanley, Lord (Lancs.)
Cranborne, Viscount M'Arthur, Charles (Liverpool) Stone, Sir Benjamin
Delany, William M'Calmont, Col. J. (Antrim, E.) Sullivan, Donal
Digby, John K. D. Wingfield- M'Govern, T. Talbot, Rt. Hn. J. G.(Oxf'd Univ.
Dillon, John M'Hugh, Patrick A. Valentia, Viscount
Doogan, P. C. M'Killop, W. (Sligo, North) Warr, Augustus Frederick
Douglas, Rt. Hon. A. Akers- Maple, Sir John Blundell Welby, Lt.-Col. A. C. E. (Taunt'n
Durning-Lawrence, Sir Edwin Mellor, Rt. Hon. John William Whitmore, Charles Algernon
Esmonde, Sir Thomas Meysey-Thompson, Sir H. M. Williams, Rt Hn J Powell-(Birm.
Fellowes, Hon. Ailwyn Edward Middlemore, John Throgmorton Wodehouse, Rt. Hn. E. R. (Bath)
Ffrench, Peter Morton, Arthur H. A. (Deptford) Worsley-Taylor, Henry Wilson
Field, William Mount, William Arthur Wylie, Alexander
Fisher, William Hayes Muutz, Philip A.
Gilhooly, James Murphy, John
Gorst, Rt. Hon. Sir John Eldon Murray, Rt Hn. A. Graham (Bute TELLERS FOE THE AYES
Gray, Ernest (West Ham) Myers, William Henry Mr. Boulnois and Mr.
Gunter, Sir Robert Nicol, Donald Ninian Vieary Gibbs.
Hamilton, Rt Hn Lord G. (Midd'x O'Brien, Kendal (Tipperary, Mid
Allan, William (Gateshead) Causton, Richard Knight Flynn, James Christopher
Black, Alexander William Channing, Francis Allston Fuller, J. M. F.
Blake, Edward Colomb, Sir John Charles Ready Goddard, Daniel Ford
Brigg, John Crean, Eugene Gurdon, Sir W. Brampton
Broadhurst, Henry Dilke, Rt. Hon. Sir Charles Harcourt, Rt. Hon. Sir William
Brunner, Sir John Tomlinson Emmott, Alfred Heath, James (Staffords., N. W
Caldwell, James Fenwick, Charles Helme, Norval Watson
Cameron, Robert Fison, Frederick William Hemphill, Rt. Hon. Charles H.
Hobhouse, C. E. H.(Bristol, E. Parkes, Ebenezer Thomson, F. W. (York, W. R.)
Hope, John Deans (Fife, West) Partington, Oswald Tomkinson, James
Humphreys-Owen, Arthur C. Peel, Hn. Wm. Robert Wellesley Trevelyan, Charles Philips
Johnstone, Heywood (Sussex) Pirie, Duncan V. Walrond, Rt Hn. Sir William H.
Langley, Batty Randles, John S. Wason, Eugene (Clackmannan)
Law, Andrew Bonar (Glasgow) Ridley, Hn. M. W. (Stalybridge) Wason, John Cathcart (Orkney
Lawson, John Grant Rollit, Sir Albert Kaye Weir, James Galloway
Leese, Sir Joseph F. (Accrington Runciman, Walter Wilson, Fred. W. (Norfolk, Mid.
Lewis, John Herbert Russell, T. W. Wilson, John (Glasgow)
Lough, Thomas Shaw, Charles Edw. (Stafford) Wilson, J. W.(Worcestersh., N.
Macnamara, Dr. Thomas J. Shaw, Thomas (Hawick, B.) Young, Samuel
MacNeill, John Gordon Swift Smith, James Parker (Lanarks) Yoxall, James Henry
M'Kenna, Reginald Soares, Ernest J.
M'Killop, James (Stirlingshire) Spencer, Rt Hn C. R. (Northants
Mooney, John J. Strachey, Sir Edward TELLERS FOE THE NOES
Moore, William (Antrim, N.) Strutt, Hon. Charles Hedley Mr. John Ellis and Sir James Woodhouse.
Morley, Charles (Breconshire) Thomas, Alfred (Glamorgan, E.
Nussey, Thomas Willans Thomas, J A (Gl'morgan, Gower
Forward to