HC Deb 27 February 1900 vol 79 cc1226-9

Motion made and Question proposed, "That this House do meet To-morrow at Two of the clock."—(Mr. A. J. Balfour.)

MR. CARVELL WILLIAMS () Nottinghamshire, Mansfield

I could furnish half a-dozen good and sufficient reasons why the House should not adopt the antiquated motion just proposed by the First Lord: but I shall name only two. One is based upon the absurdity of the plea urged in its favour, namely, that it affords an opportunity for going to church on Ash Wednesday, whereas everybody knows that nobody wants to go to church, and that if any Member does want he is free to go, without endeavouring to prevent others attending this House, where they consider their duty lies. The second is a more practical reason, to-morrow the first Order of the Day happening to be the Mines (Eight Hours) Bill. Last session its promoters were unfortunate in the ballot, and the Bill could not be discussed, but this year they seemed to have obtained a good place, and to have a prospect of a division. This motion will, however, deprive them of two hours, and may even deprive them of a division, except as the result of that odious expedient the

closure. A large number of my constituents are deeply interested in the Bill, and will be both disappointed and disgusted if, as the result of this motion, two hour's are frittered away and no progress is made.

Question put.

The House divided: Aves, 223; Noes, 109. (Division List No. 43.)

Pryce-Jones, Lt.-Col. Edward Sidebotham. J. W. (Cheshire) Vincent, Sir Edgar (Exeter)
Purvis, Robert Sidebottom, William (Derbys.) Warr, Augustus Frederick
Pym, C. Guy Simeon, Sir Barrington Webster, Sir Richard E.
Quilter, Sir Cuthbert Sinclair, Capt. John (Forfarsh'e) Welby, Lieut.-Col. A. C. E.
Rasch, Major Frederic Came Sinclair, Louis (Romford) Whiteley, H. (Ashton-u.-L.)
Rentoul, James Alexander Smith, Jas. Parker (Lanarks.) Williams, Colonel R. (Dorset)
Richardson, Sir Thos. (Hartlep'l) Spencer, Ernest Williams, Joseph Powell-(Birm)
Ridley. Rt. Hn. Sir Matthew W. Stanley, Sir H. M. (Lambeth) Willox. Sir John Archibald
Ritchie, Rt. Hn. Chas. Thomson Stewart. Sir Mark J. M'Taggart Wilson-Todd, Wm. H. (Yorks)
Robertson, Herbert (Hackney) Stirling-Maxwell, Sir John M. Wodehouse, Rt. Hn. E. R. (Bath)
Russell, T. W. (Tyrone) Strauss, Arthur Wortley, Rt. Hon. C. B. Stuart
Ryder, John Herbert Dudley Strutt, Hon. Charles Hedley Wyndham, George
Samuel, Harry S. (Limehouse) Sturt, Hon. Humphry Napier Voung,Commander (Berks, E.)
Sassoon, Sir Edward Albert Sutherland. Sir Thomas
Savory, Sir Joseph Talbot, Rt Hn. J. G. (Oxf d Univ.) TELLERS FOR THE AYES—Sir William Walrond and Mr. Anstruther.
Seeley, Charles Hilton Thornton, Percy M.
Seton-Karr, Henry Tomlinson, W. Edw. Murray
Sharpe, William Edward T. Tritton, Charles Ernest
Abraham, William (Cork, N. E.) Fenwick, Charles O'Connor, Jas. (Wicklow, W.)
Abraham, William (Rhondda) Ferguson, R. C. Munro (Leith) O'Connor, T. P. (Liverpool)
Allan, William (Gateshead) Foster, Sir Walter (Derby Co.) Oldroyd, Mark
Ashton, Thomas Gair Fowler, Rt. Hon. Sir Henry Pease, Alfred E. (Cleveland)
Asquith, Rt. Hn Herbert Henry Gladstone, Rt. Hon. Herbert J. Perks, Robert William
Atherley-Jones, L. Goddard, Daniel Ford Philipps, John Wynford
Austin, M. (Limerick, W.) Gold, Charles Pilkington, Sir G. A. (Lanc. S. W.)
Baker, Sir John Grey, Sir Edward (Berwick) Power, Patrick Joseph
Barlow, John Emmott Gurdon, Sir William Brampton Redmond, John E. (Waterford)
Bavley, Thomas (Derbyshire) Hayne, Rt. Hon. Charles Seale Redmond, William (Clare)
Billson, Alfred Hazell, Walter Reid, Sir Robert Threshie
Birrell, Augustine Hemphill, Rt. Hon. Charles H. Rickett, J. Compton
Blake, Edward Hobhouse, Henry Rollit, Sir Albert Kaye
Bryce, Rt. Hon. James Hogan, James Francis Samuel, J. (Stockton-on-Tees)
Buchanan, Thomas Ryburn Holland, William Henry Schwann, Charles E.
Burt, Thomas Humphreys-Owen, Arthur C. Stanhope, Hon. Philip J.
Buxton, Sydney Charles Jacoby, James Alfred Stevenson, Francis S.
Caldwell, James Jones, D. Brynmor (Swansea) Strachey, Edward
Cameron, Sir Chas. (Glasgow) Jones, Wm. (Carnarvonshire) Stuart, James (Shoreditch)
Cameron, Robert (Durham) Kay-Shuttleworth, Rt Hn. Sir U. Sullivan, Donal (Westmeath).
Campbell-Bannerman, Sir H. Kearley, Hudson E. Tennant, Harold John
Causton, Richard Knight Kilbride, Denis Thomas, David A. (Merthyr)
Channing, Francis Allston Kitson, Sir James Trevelyan, Charles Philips
Clark, Dr. G. B. Labouchere, Henry Wallace, Robert
Crilly, Daniel Langley, Batty Walton, Joseph (Barnsley)
Curran, Thomas B. (Donegal) Lawson, Sir Wilfrid (Cumb'l'd) Warner, Thomas Courtenay T.
Curran, Thomas (Sligo, S.) Leese, Sir Jos. F. (Accrington) Wason, Eugene
Dalziel, James Henry Leng, Sir John Wedderburn, Sir William
Dilke, Rt. Hon. Sir Charles Lough, Thomas Weir, James Galloway
Donelan, Captain A. Lyell, Sir Leonard Whiteley, George (Stockport)
Doogan, P. C. Macaleese, Daniel Wilson, Frederick W. (Norfolk)
Douglas, Charles M. (Lanark) M'Arthur, William (Cornwall) Wilson, John (Govan)
Duckworth, James M'Kenna, Reginald Yoxall, James Henry
Dunn, Sir William Mendl, Sigismund Ferdinand
Ellis, John Edward Morley, Rt. Hon. J. (Montrose) TELLERS FOR THE NOES—Mr. Carvell Williams and Mr. Maddison.
Evans, Sir Francis H. (Sonth'ton) Morton, E. J. C. (Devonport)
Evershed, Sydney Moulton, John Fletcher
Farrell, James P. (Cavan, W.) Norton, Capt. Cecil William
Forward to