HC Deb 14 March 1876 vol 227 cc2012-3

asked the Chief Secretary for Ireland, Whether he will lay upon the Table of the House a Return setting forth the Counties or other Districts of Ireland which lay under the proclamation of the Lord Lieutenant on the 1st day of March last, and specifying those which remained subject to proclamation on the first instant?


The hon. Member will find in Return No. 231 of the Session of 1874 information showing the districts in Ireland proclaimed at that time. Since March 1, 1875, the ordinary proclamations have been revoked in the counties of Carlow, Wexford, Kildare, Wicklow, parts of Fermanagh and Down, and the special proclamations which were in force in Meath, Westmeath, parts of Cavan and Clare, expired on the 1st of June last, with the expiry of that portion of the old Peace Preservation Act which empowered them to be issued.