HC Deb 20 March 1843 vol 67 cc1145-7

Mr. Hume moved for, An account, in detail, under separate and distinct heads, of the manner in which the sum of 32,2002. sterling, voted in the miscellaneous estimate (No. 6) for the year ending the 31st of March, 1843, was expended; stating the amount paid to each salaried officer for the year, and showing the total charge for the Mint establishment for the year; also, the amount received by each of the officers from the Government, and from individuals, for duty performed by those officers in their various departments during the same period; and stating also the charge for each assay, and the aggregate amount received at the Mint for assays within the year; also the charge for melting; and the aggregate amount received in the year for melting; and stating the portion of these charges which have been brought to the account of Government, and the portion paid to the officers of the Mint, and the amount to each. He wished to know if there was any objection to the return.

Mr. Gladstone

objected to the return, as it would be of no advantage to the public. The officers of the Mint had the privilege, when not engaged in the public service, of earning private emolument.

Mr. Hume

said, they did this from the materials afforded them by the public. He complained of the amount Mr. Matthieson, of the Mint, had received for the assay of the Chinese silver as exorbitant.

The Chancellor of the Exchequer

said, considering that Mr. Matthieson had to furnish the materials for the assay, as well as the labour, and care, and skill, his payment was only reasonable.

Mr. Gladstone

proposed to omit all the words, after the word Government so as to exclude "individuals."

Mr. Hume

persisted in his motion, the House divided; on the question that the words proposed to be left out, stand part of the question:—Ayes 15; Noes 39: Majority 24.

List of the AYES.
Barneby, J. Morison, Gen.
Blewitt, R. J. Pechell, Capt.
Duncan, G. Ross, D. R.
Ewart, W. Stanton, W. H.
Fielden, J. Thornely, T.
Forster, M. Yorke, H. R.
Hatton, Capt. V. Hume, J.
Heathcoat, J. Bowring, Dr.
List of the NOES.
Acland, Sir T. D. Knatchbull, rt. hn. Sir E.
Arbuthnott, hon. H. Lincoln, Earl of
Arkwright, G. Mackenzie, W. F.
Baring, hon. W. B. Manners, Lord J.
Baskerville, T. B. M. Maxwell, hon. J. P.
Buckley, E. Nicholl, rt. hon. J.
Chetwode, Sir J. Northland, Visct.
Escott, B. Patten, J. W.
Flower, Sir J. Peel, rt. hon. Sir R.
Fuller, A. E. Polhill, F.
Gaskell, J. M. Pringle, A.
Gladstone, rt. hn. W. E. Rushbrooke, Col.
Goulburn, rt. hon. H. Sutton, hon. H. M.
Graham, rt. hon. Sir J. Tennent, J. E.
Greene, T. Tollemache, J.
Grimsditch, T. Trench, Sir F. W.
Grogan, E. Vivian, J. E.
Henley, J. W. Young, J.
Herbert, hon. S. TELLERS.
Hodgson, R. Fremantle, Sir T.
Hope, G. W. Baring, H.

Main question as amended agreed to.

House adjourned at a quarter 8 o'clock.