HC Deb 06 August 1840 vol 55 c1363

Lord J. Russell moved the order of the day for a committee of ways and means.

Mr. Aglionby moved, as an amendment, the order of the day for the adjourned debate on the motion for an address relating to political offenders.

The House divided on the motion:— Ayes 42; Noes 11:—Majority 31.

List of the AYES.
Adam, Admiral Alston, R.
Baldwin, C. B. Morris, D.
Baring, rt. hon. F. T. Muskett, G. A.
Barnard, E. G. Nicholl, J.
Bernal, R. Palmerston, Viscount
Bowes J. Parker, J.
Broadley, H. Polhill, F.
Broadwood, H. Richards, R.
Bryan, G. Russell, Lord J.
Clay, W. Shaw, rt. hon. F.
Douglas, Sir C. E. Sheppard, T.
Elliot, hon. J. E. Smith, B.
Euston, Earl of Stanley, hon. B. J.
Fazakerley, J. N. Stock, Dr.
Grey, rt. hon. Sir C. Style, Sir C.
Heathcote, G. J. Townley, R. G.
Hobhouse, rt. hn. Sir J. Trotter, J.
Hobhouse, T. B. Troubridge, Sir E. T.
Irton, S. Yates, John A.
Lushington, C.
Lushington, rt. hn. S. TELLERS.
Macaulay, rt. hn. T. B. Maule, hon. F.
Morpeth, Viscount Tufnell, H.
List of the NOES.
Ellis, W. Thornley, T.
Ewart, W. Vigors, N. A.
Hector, C. J. Warburton, H.
Hume, J. Wood, B.
Langdale, hon. C. TELLERS.
Leader, J. T. Duncombe, T.
Salwey, Colonel Aglionby, H. A.

Order of the day for committee, read and discharged.