HC Deb 13 June 1839 vol 48 c217

On the motion for the third reading of the High Sheriff's Expenses Bill,

Sir Edward Knatchbull

objected to proceeding with a measure of so much importance at so late an hour of the night. The bill had now advanced to its last stage, but had never yet been discussed or considered. He should certainly oppose the motion.

The House divided.

Ayes 40: Noes 16; Majority 24.

List of the AYES.
Adam, Admiral Pigot, D. R.
Archbold, R. Power, J.
Baines, E. Pryme, G.
Baring, F. T. Redington, T. N.
Beamish, F.B. Russell, Lord John
Blake, W. J. Rutherfurd, rt. hon. A.
Brotherton, J. Salwey, Colonel
Busfield, W. Stanley, hon. E. J.
Chalmers, P. Stanley, W. O.
Duncombe, T. Steuart, R.
Elliot, hon. J. E. Stewart, J.
Hastie, A. Strutt, E.
Jervis, J. Tancred, H. W.
Lemon, Sir C. Turner, W.
Maule, hon. F. Wallace, R.
Mildmay, P. St. John Warburton, H.
Morpeth, Lord Visct. Westenra, hon. H. R
Morris, D. Winnington, H. J.
Norreys, Sir D. J.
O'Connell, M. TELLERS.
O'Ferrall, R. M. Davies, Colonel Parrott, J.
Pechell, Captain
List of the NOES.
Aglionby, H. A. Hodgson, R.
Burroughes, H. N. Kelburne, Lord Visct
Collins, W. Plumptre, J. P.
Darby, G. Rice, E. R.
Filmer, Sir E. Talfourd, Mr. Sergt.
Finch, F. Williams, W. A.
Gore, O. J. R.
Grimsditch, T. TELLERS.
Hector, C. J. Knatchbull, Sir E.
Hobhouse, T. B. Barneby, J.

On the question, that the bill do pass,

Mr. Barneby

objected to the second clause, because the Sheriffs would be able to appoint their own dependents, a javelin-men, and call upon the county to clothe and pay them.

He moved the omission of part of the clause.

Mr. F. T. Baring

said, that the sheriffs were answerable for the javelin-men, and therefore ought to have the appointment,

The House again divided on the question that the clause remain:—Ayes 36 Noes 17:—Majority 19.

List of the AYES.
Adam, Adml. Archbold, R.
Baines, E. Pigot, D. R.
Baring, F. T. Power, J.
Beamish, F. B. Pryme, G.
Busfield, W. Redington, T. N.
Chalmers, P. Russell, Lord J.
Duncombe, T. Rutherfurd, rt. hon. A.
Eliot, hon. J. E. Salwey, Col.
Hastie, A. Stanley, hon. W. J.
Jervis, J. Stanley, W. O.
Lemon, Sir C. Steuart, R.
Maule, hon. F. Stewart, J.
Mildmay, P. St. John Turner, W.
Morpeth, Visct. Warburton, H.
Morris, D. Westenra, hon. H. R.
Norreys, Sir D. J. Winnington, H. J.
O'Connell, M.
O'Ferrall, R. M. TELLERS.
Parrott, J. Davies, Col. Wallace, R.
Pechell, Capt.
List of the NOES.
Aglionby, H. A. Knatchbull, right hon. Sir E.
Brotherton, J.
Burroughes, H. N. Plumptre, J. P.
Collins, W. Rice, E. R.
Filmer, Sir E. Talfourd, Mr. Sergt.
Finch, F. Thompson, Mr. Ald.
Gore, O. J. R. Williams, W. A.
Grimsditch, T.
Hector, C. J. TELLERS.
Hobhouse, T. B. Darby, G.
Hodgson, R. Barneby, J.

Bill passed.

Forward to