HC Deb 01 March 1994 vol 238 cc640-1W
Dr. Wright

To ask the Secretary of State for the Environment if he will give details of the public appointments he is responsible for making in addition to those identified in "Public Bodies 1993", including non-executive agency and other departmental management boards.

Mr. Baldry

In addition to the bodies identified in "Public Bodies 1993", and excluding departmental committees, of which no central record is maintained, the Secretary of State makes appointments to the following bodies:

New bodies established since Public Bodies 1993 (1 April 1993)
Appointment Annual salary £
Birmingham Castle Vale Housing Action Trust Chairman 25,315
Deputy Chairman 8,590
10 Members 5,030
English Partnerships Chairman unpaid
Deputy Chairman 24,605
4 Members 6,310
Local Government Staff Commission Chairman 25,200
2 Members 13,890
Tower Hamlets Housing Action Trust Chairman 25,315
Deputy Chairman 8,590
8 Members 5,030
Executive Agencies
Ordnance Survey Director General 1
3 management board non-executives 5,262
Planning Inspectorate Chief Planning Inspector 1
4 Members of Advisory Board unpaid
Building Research Establishment Chief Executive 1
QE II Conference Centre Chief Executive 2
The Buying Agency Chief Executive 2
Security Facilities Executive Chief Executive 2
Other Bodies
Office of Water Resources (OFWAT) Director General 3
7 National Park Authorities (England) One-third of Members unpaid
Broads Authority 9 of the 35 Members unpaid
Sutton Housing Trust 4 of the 7 Trustees 2,120
Commission for Local Administration Chairman 4
2 Commissioners 3
1 Civil Service Grade 3.
2 Civil Service Grade 5.
3 Civil Service Grade 2.
4 Civil Service Grade 1.

Appointments to the Commission for Local Administration are made by Her Majesty the Queen on the advice of the Secretary of State. One commissioner receives an addition of £1,000 per annum as deputy chairman.

The Secretary of State also appoints the local government independent adjudicator—£5,750—and nominates 14 members for the European Community's Committee of the Regions. The appointments are formally made by the EC Council of Ministers.

Forward to