HC Deb 21 October 1987 vol 120 cc814-5W

Ms. Richardson asked the Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster whether he will list (a) the members of the Monopolies and Mergers Commission, (b) the criteria for selection of members, (c) the relevant qualifications of present members, (d) the number of Trades Union Congress-nominated places and (e) how many Trades Union Congress-nominated places are held by women.

Mr. Maude

Members of the Monopolies and Mergers Commission are drawn from a variety of professional backgrounds relevant to the work of the commission. In selecting candidates for appointment the particular expertise and experience currently required by the commission are important considerations. Places are reserved neither for any particular specialism nor for the nominees of particular organisations. At present four members have a background in trade union affairs; all are men.

Name Position Relevant Qualifications
Mr. N. L. Salmon Member Industrialist (management)
Mr. D. P. Thomson Member Banker
Mr. C. A. Unwin, MBE Member Trade unionist
Mr. S. Wainwright, CBE Member Banker and Nationalised Industry (management)
Mr. R. Young Member Industrialist (management)


1. Under the provisions of the Fair Trading Act 1973 the Secretary of State for Trade and Industry is responsible for maintaining a panel from which additional members may be appointed to take part in any investigation into a newspaper merger.

2. Similarly, under section 13(10) of the Telecommunications Act 1984 the Secretary of State for Trade and Industry is required to appoint not less than three additional members to the commission to assist in any investigation under the Act.