HC Deb 11 February 1998 vol 306 cc520-6

Lords amendment: No. 3, in page 6, leave out lines 3 to 7 and insert— ("The government propose the establishment of a greater London Authority made up of an elected assembly and a separately elected mayor, both to be elected by Londoners. Question 1: Are you in favour of an elected assembly? Put a cross (X) in one box: YES NO Question 2: Are you in favour of an elected mayor? Put a cross (X) in one box: YES NO ")

Motion made, and Question put, That this House doth disagree with the Lords in the said amendment.—[Me. Raynsford.]

The House divided: Ayer 245, Noes 181.

Question accordingly agreed to.

Lords amendment disagreed to.

Motion made, and Question proposed,

That a Committee be appointed to draw up Reasons to be assigned to the Lords for disagreeing to their Amendments Nos. 1, 2 and 3; that Mr. Graham Allen, Mr. Stephen Day, Ms Glenda Jackson, Mr. Richard Ottaway and Mr. Nick Raynsford be members of the Committee; that three be the Quorum of the Committee; that the Committee do withdraw immediately.—[Mr. Raynsford.]

Mr. Simon Hughes

On a point of order, Mr. Deputy Speaker. This issue arose in the last Parliament after we had considered Lords amendments. We said that, if there was to be a fair reflection of the views of the House, there should be fair representation on the Committee. In the last Parliament, the Committee did include representatives from the Opposition Benches. Is there any way in which, even at this stage, all three parties represented in the debate could be represented on the Committee to ensure that the matter is not carved up again, as it has been in the past?

Mr. Deputy Speaker

That is not a point of order for the Chair, but it can be raised through the usual channels.

Question put:

The House divided: Ayes 236, Noes 25.

Division No. 168] [1.23 am
Ainger, Nick Field, Rt Hon Frank
Allen, Graham Fisher, Mark
Anderson, Donald (Swansea E) Fitzpatrick, Jim
Anderson, Janet (Rossendale) Fitzsimons, Lorna
Atkins, Charlotte Foster, Michael J (Worcester)
Austin, John Gapes, Mike
Barnes, Harry Gardiner, Barry
Barron, Kevin Gerrard, Neil
Bayley, Hugh Godsiff, Roger
Bennett, Andrew F Goggins, Paul
Berry, Roger Golding, Mrs Llin
Betts, Clive Gordon, Mrs Eileen
Blears, Ms Hazel Griffiths, Jane (Reading E)
Blizzard, Bob Griffiths, Win (Bridgend)
Borrow, David Grogan, John
Bradshaw, Ben Hain, Peter
Brown, Rt Hon Nick (Newcastle E) Hall, Mike (Weaver Vale)
Brown, Russell (Dumfries) Hall, Patrick (Bedford)
Buck, Ms Karen Hamilton, Fabian (Leeds NE)
Burden, Richard Hanson, David
Burgon, Colin Heal, Mrs Sylvia
Caborn, Richard Healey, John
Campbell, Alan (Tynemouth) Henderson, Ivan (Harwich)
Campbell, Mrs Anne (C'bridge) Hepburn, Stephen
Campbell-Savours, Dale Heppell, John
Canavan, Dennis Hesford, Stephen
Caplin, Ivor Hewitt, Ms Patricia
Casale, Roger Hill, Keith
Caton, Martin Hinchliffe, David
Cawsey, Ian Home Robertson, John
Chapman, Ben (Wirral S) Hoon, Geoffrey
Chaytor, David Hope, Phil
Chisholm, Malcolm Hopkins, Kelvin
Clark, Dr Lynda Howarth, Alan (Newport E)
(Edinburgh Pentlands) Hoyle, Lindsay
Clark, Paul (Gillingham) Hughes, Ms Beverley (Stretford)
Clarke, Rt Hon Tom (Coatbridge) Hurst, Alan
Clelland, David Hutton, John
Clwyd, Ann Iddon, Dr Brian
Coaker, Vernon Illsley, Eric
Coffey, Ms Ann Jackson, Ms Glenda (Hampstead)
Coleman, Iain Jackson, Helen (Hillsborough)
Colman, Tony Jamieson, David
Connarty, Michael Jenkins, Brian
Cooper, Yvette Johnson, Alan (Hull W & Hessle)
Corston, Ms Jean Johnson, Miss Melanie
Crausby, David (Welwyn Hatfield)
Cryer, Mrs Ann (Keighley) Jones, Barry (Alyn & Deeside)
Cummings, John Jones, Helen (Warrington N)
Darvill, Keith Jones, Jon Owen (Cardiff C)
Davidson, Ian Jones, Dr Lynne (Selly Oak)
Davies, Geraint (Croydon C) Jones, Martyn (Clwyd S)
Davis, Terry (B'ham Hodge H) Kaufman, Rt Hon Gerald
Dawson, Hilton Keeble, Ms Sally
Dismore, Andrew Keen, Alan (Feltham & Heston)
Donohoe, Brian H Kemp, Fraser
Doran, Frank Kennedy, Jane (Wavertree)
Dowd, Jim Khabra, Piara S
Drew, David King, Andy (Rugby & Kenilworth)
Drown, Ms Julia King, Ms Oona (Bethnal Green)
Efford, Clive Kingham, Ms Tess
Ellman, Mrs Louise Ladyman, Dr Stephen
Ennis, Jeff Laxton, Bob
Etherington, Bill Lepper, David
Leslie, Christopher Roy, Frank
Levitt, Tom Ruane, Chris
Lewis, Ivan (Bury S) Ruddock, Ms Joan
Linton, Martin Russell, Ms Christine (Chester)
Lock, David Salter, Martin
Love, Andrew Savidge, Malcolm
McAllion, John Sawford, Phil
McAvoy, Thomas Simpson, Alan (Nottingham S)
McCabe, Steve Skinner, Dennis
McCartney, Ian (Makerfield) Smith, Rt Hon Andrew (Oxford E)
Macdonald, Calum Smith, Angela (Basildon)
McFall, John Smith, Miss Geraldine
McGuire, Mrs Anne (Morecambe & Lunesdale)
McIsaac, Shona Smith, Llew (Blaenau Gwent)
Mackinlay, Andrew Snape, Peter
McNulty, Tony Soley, Clive
McWilliam, John Southworth, Ms Helen
Marek, Dr John Spellar, John
Marsden, Gordon (Blackpool S) Squire, Ms Rachel
Marsden, Paul (Shrewsbury) Starkey, Dr Phyllis
Marshall, David (Shettleston) Steinberg, Gerry
Marshall, Jim (Leicester S) Stevenson, George
Marshall-Andrews, Robert Stewart, David (Inverness E)
Martlew, Eric Stringer, Graham
Michael, Alun Stuart, Ms Gisela
Michie, Bill (Shef'ld Heeley) Sutclifre, Gerry
Miller, Andrew Taylor, David (NW Leics)
Thomas, Gareth (Clwyd W)
Moran, Ms Margaret Timms, Stephen
Morgan, Ms Julie (Cardiff N) Tipping, Paddy
Morgan, Rhodri (Cardiff W) Touhig, Don
Morley, Elliot Trickett, Jon
Morris, Ms Estelle (B'ham Yardley) Truswell, Paul
Mudie, George Turner, Dr George (NW Norfolk)
Mullin, Chris Twigg, Derek (Halton)
Murphy, Denis (Wansbeck) Twigg, Stephen (Enfield)
Naysmith, Dr Doug Vaz, Keith
Norris, Dan Vis, Dr Rudi
O'Hara, Eddie Wareing, Robert N
Osborne, Ms Sandra Watts, David
Palmer, Dr Nick White, Brian
Pickthall, Colin Whitehead, Dr Alan
Pike, Peter L Wicks, Malcolm
Plaskitt, James Williams, Alan W (E Carmarthen)
Pond, Chris Wills, Michael
Pope, Greg Wilson, Brian
Pound, Stephen Wnterton, Ms Rosie (Doncaster C)
Prentice, Ms Bridget (Lewisham E) Wood, Mike
Prentice, Gordon (Pendle) Woolas, Phil
Prosser, Gwyn Worthington, Tony
Purchase, Ken Wray, James
Quin, Ms Joyce Wright, Anthony D (Gt Yarmouth)
Quinn, Lawrie Wright, Dr Tony (Cannock)
Rammell, Bill Wyatt, Derek
Rapson, Syd
Raynsford, Nick Tellers for the Ayes:
Rooker, Jeff Mr. Kevin Hughes and Mr. Robert Ainsworth.
Rooney, Terry
Allan, Richard Kirkwood, Archy
Ashdown, Rt Hon Paddy Moore, Michael
Baker, Norman Öpik, Lembit
Ballard, Mrs Jackie Rendel, David
Beith, Rt Hon A J Russell, Bob (Colchester)
Brand, Dr Peter Sanders, Adrian
Burstow Paul Smith, Sir Robert (W Ab'd'ns)
Taylor, Matthew (Truro)
Campbell, Menzies (NE Fife) Wallace, James
Cotter, Brian Webb, Steve
Davey, Edward (Kingston) Willis, Phil
Harris, Dr Evan
Heath, David (Somerton & Frome) Tellers for the Noes:
Hughes, Simon (Southwark N) Mr. Paul Tyler and Mr. Don Foster.
Keetch, Paul

Question accordingly agreed to.

Reasons for disagreeing to certain Lords amendments reported, and agreed to; to be communicated to the Lords.

Back to