HC Deb 04 December 1996 vol 286 c1063

'. Section l(3)(b) of the 1968 Act (which exempts air weapons from the requirements of that section unless declared specially dangerous) shall be amended by substituting for the words "declared by rules made by the Secretary of State under section 53 of this Act to be specially dangerous" the words "specified by rules made by the Secretary of State under section 53 of this Act.".'.—[Mr. Straw.]

Brought up, and read the First time.

Motion made, and Question put, That the clause be read a Second time:—

The House divided: Ayes 213, Noes 270.

Division No. 24] [4.52 pm
Abbott, Ms Diane Corbyn, Jeremy
Adams, Mrs Irene Corston, Ms Jean
Ainger, Nick Cousins, Jim
Ainsworth, Robert (Cov'try NE) Cummings, John
Allen, Graham Cunliffe, Lawrence
Afton, David Cunningham, Jim (Cov'try SE)
Ashdown, Paddy Cunningham, Dr John
Barnes, Harry Cunningham, Ms R (Perth Kinross)
Battle, John Dalyell, Tam
Beckett, Mrs Margaret Darling, Alistair
Beggs, Roy Davidson, Ian
Bell, Stuart Davies, Bryan (Oldham C)
Benn, Tony Davies, Chris (Littleborough)
Bennett, Andrew F Davies, Ron (Caerphilly)
Benton, Joe Dewar, Donald
Bermingham, Gerald Dixon, Don
Berry, Roger Donohoe, Brian H
Betts, Clive Dowd, Jim
Blunkett, David Eagle, Ms Angela
Boateng, Paul Eastham, Ken
Bowden, Sir Andrew Etherington, Bill
Bradley, Keith Evans, John (St Helens N)
Bray, Dr Jeremy Ewing, Mrs Margaret
Brown, Nicholas (Newcastle E) Faulds, Andrew
Bruce, Malcolm (Gordon) Flynn, Paul
Byers, Stephen Forsythe, Clifford (S Antrim)
Callaghan, Jim Foster, Derek
Campbell, Mrs Anne (C'bridge) Foster, Don (Bath)
Campbell, Menzies (Fife NE) Fyfe, Mrs Maria
Campbell, Ronnie (Blyth V) Galbraith, Sam
Campbell-Savours, D N Garrett, John
Canavan, Dennis Gerrard, Neil
Carlile, Alex (Montgomery) Golding, Mrs Llin
Chisholm, Malcolm Graham, Thomas
Clark, Dr David (S Shields) Griffiths, Nigel (Edinburgh S)
Clarke, Eric (Midlothian) Griffiths, Win (Bridgend)
Clarke, Tom (Monklands W) Grocott, Bruce
Clelland, David Gunnell, John
Clwyd, Mrs Ann Hain, Peter
Coffey, Ms Ann Hall, Mike
Cohen, Harry Hanson, David
Connarty, Michael Harman, Ms Harriet
Ainsworth, Peter (E Surrey) Baker, Kenneth (Mole V)
Alison, Michael (Selby) Baker, Nicholas (N Dorset)
Amess, David Baldry, Tony
Arnold, Jacques (Gravesham) Banks, Matthew (Southport)
Banks, Robert (Harrogate)
Ashby, David Bates, Michael
Atkins, Robert Batiste, Spencer
Atkinson, Peter (Hexham) Bendall, Vivian

Question accordingly negatived.

Forward to