HC Deb 20 May 1994 vol 243 c1101

Order for Second Reading read.

Mr. Dennis Skinner (Bolsover)

With the greatest pleasure and on behalf of the trade unionists at GCHQ, I beg to move, That the Bill be now read a Second time.

Question put, That the Bill be now read a Second time:—

The House divided: Ayes 17, Noes 17.

Division No. 250] [2.17 pm
Berry, Roger Powell, Ray (Ogmore)
Corbyn, Jeremy Rooker, Jeff
Davies, Bryan (Oldham C'tral) Sedgemore, Brian
Dixon, Don Sheerman, Barry
Hill, Keith (Streatham) Skinner, Dennis
Hoey, Kate Spearing, Nigel
Livingstone, Ken
Lynne, Ms Liz Tellers for the Ayes:
Madden, Max Mr. Harry Barnes, and
Morris, Rt Hon A. (Wy'nshawe) Mr. John Austin-Walker
Pope, Greg
Arbuthnot, James Paice, James
Atkinson, Peter (Hexham) Scott, Rt Hon Nicholas
Bottomley, Peter (Eltham) Sproat, Iain
Bowis, John Thurnham, Peter
Conway, Derek Townsend, Cyril D. (Bexl"yh"th)
Cormack, Patrick Wheeler, Rt Hon Sir John
Dicks, Terry
Fox, Dr Liam (Woodspring) Tellers for the Noes:
Greenway, Harry (Ealing N) Mr. Edward Leigh, and
Hughes Robert G. (Harrow W) Mr. Michael Fabricant.
Montgomery, Sir Fergus

It appearing on the report of the Division that 40 Members were not present, MR. DEPUTY SPEAKER declared that the Question was not decided, and the business under consideration stood over until the next Sitting of the House.