HC Deb 15 December 1993 vol 234 cc1240-1 2.54 am
Mr. Richard Page (Hertfordshire, South-West)

I present a petition on behalf of the residents of Maple Cross in the district of Three Rivers just north of Denham aerodrome. This petition can be added to several others which have already been presented by hon. Members in the House who represent constituencies to the south, east and west of the aerodrome. The petitioners suffer from the noise pollution of light aircraft using Denham aerodrome, especially those undertaking circuit training and bumps.

Therefore, the petitioners call upon the House to pass legislation as a matter of urgency to implement the provisions of the "Review of Aircraft Noise legislation —Announcement of Conclusions" paper dated March 1993 following the consultation paper "Control of Aircraft Noise" published in August 1991; and that such legislation should establish a range of noise control levels for designated aerodromes, especially those where circuit flying is permitted; that such legislation should include provisions whereby the polluter pays for the cost of remedying any breach of the legislation and meeting any conditions which may be imposed by the lead authority to reduce substantially the noise generated by light aircraft; and that frequency of aircraft engaged in circuits and bumps should be restricted when flying from aerodromes in the vicinity of residential areas and that they be precluded from such operations on all weekends during the months of June to September inclusive; and that the House gives the Secretary of State powers to designate such aerodromes where circuit and bumps are permitted as distinct from those where normal take-offs and landings are permitted for light aircraft travelling between one aerodrome and another.

Wherefore your petitioners will, as in duty bound, ever pray.

To lie upon the Table.

Mr. Andrew F. Bennett (Denton and Reddish)

On a point of order, Madam Deputy Speaker. I beg to move, That strangers do withdraw.

Notice being taken that strangers were present, Madam Deputy Speaker, pursuant to Standing Order No. 143 (Withdrawal of strangers from House), put forthwith the Question, That strangers do withdraw:—

The House divided: Ayes 6, Noes 82.

Division No. 53] [2.56 am
Bennett, Andrew F. Williams, Alan W (Carmarthen)
Graham, Thomas
Heppell, John Tellers for the Ayes:
Mudie, George Mr. Jimmy Wray and
Short, Clare Mr. Kevin Hughes
Alexander, Richard Brandreth, Gyles
Amess, David Butler, Peter
Arbuthnot, James Chapman, Sydney
Arnold, Jacques (Gravesham) Coombs, Anthony (Wyre For'st)
Baker, Nicholas (Dorset North) Cryer, Bob
Bates, Michael Currie, Mrs, Edwina (S D'by'ire)
Batiste, Spencer Davidson, Ian
Blackburn, Dr John G. Dewar, Donald
Booth, Hartley Dixon, Don
Boswell, Tim Dover, Den
Emery, Rt Hon Sir Peter Mawhinney, Dr Brian
Fabricant, Michael Moate, Sir Roger
Fox, Dr Liam (Woodspring) Newton, Rt Hon Tony
Gallie, Phil Nicholls, Patrick
Gillan, Cheryl Page, Richard
Godman, Dr Norman A. Paice, James
Goodson-Wickes, Dr Charles Patnick, Irvine
Hague, William Pawsey, James
Hall, Mike Pickthall, Eric
Hayes, Jerry Pickthall, Colin
Heald, Oliver Powell, Ray (Ogmore)
Hendry, Charles Richards, Rod
Howarth, George (Knowsley N) Robathan, Andrew
Howell, Rt Hon David (G'dford) Robertson, Raymond (Ab'd'n S)
Illsley, Eric Robinson, Mark (Somerton)
Jack, Michael Rowe, Andrew (Mid Kent)
Jenkin, Bernard Ryder, Rt Hon Richard
Jessel, Toby Sackville, Tom
Jones, Gwilym (Cardiff N) Shepherd, Colin (Hereford)
Kilfedder, Sir James Skinner, Dennis
Kilfoyle, Peter Smith, Dennis
Knight, Mrs Angela (Erewash) Spencer, Tim (Beaconsfield)
Knight, Greg (Derby N) Stabley, Rt Hon Sir John
Kynoch, George (Kincardine) Steen, Anthony
Lait, Mrs Jacqui Trend, Michael
Lewis, Terry Whittingdals, John
Lightbown, David Widdecombe, Ann
Lilley, Rt Hon Peter Willetts, David
Loyden, Eddie Wise, Audrey
Luff, Peter
McMaster, Gordon Tellers for the Noes:
Maitland, Lady Olga Mr. Robert G. Hughes and
Malone, Gerald Mr. Andrew Mitchell.

Question accordingly negatived.

Back to
Forward to