HC Deb 19 December 1989 vol 164 cc282-3

Question put, That a sum not exceeding £58,271,200,000 be granted to Her Majesty out of the Consolidated Fund, on account, for or towards defraying the charges for defence and civil services for the year ending on 31st March 1991, as set out in House of Commons Papers Nos. 604, 605 and 606 of Session 1988–89.

The House divided: Ayes 203, Noes 7.

Division No. 27] [at 9.07 pm
Alexander, Richard French, Douglas
Alton, David Gale, Roger
Amess, David Gardiner, George
Amos, Alan Garel-Jones, Tristan
Arbuthnot, James Gill, Christopher
Arnold, Jacques (Gravesham) Glyn, Dr Alan
Ashby, David Goodlad, Alastair
Atkinson, David Goodson-Wickes, Dr Charles
Baker, Rt Hon K. (Mole Valley) Gorst, John
Banks, Robert (Harrogate) Grant, Sir Anthony (CambsSW)
Beaumont-Dark, Anthony Greenway, Harry (Ealing N)
Bendall, Vivian Greenway, John (Ryedale)
Bennett, Nicholas (Pembroke) Griffiths, Peter (Portsmouth N)
Bevan, David Gilroy Grist, Ian
Blaker, Rt Hon Sir Peter Grylls, Michael
Boscawen, Hon Robert Hague, William
Boswell, Tim Hamilton, Hon Archie (Epsom)
Bowden, A (Brighton K'pto'n) Hampson, Dr Keith
Bowden, Gerald (Dulwich) Hargreaves, A. (B'ham H'll Gr')
Bowis, John Harris, David
Braine, Rt Hon Sir Bernard Hawkins, Christopher
Brandon-Bravo, Martin Hayes, Jerry
Bright, Graham Heathcoat-Amory, David
Browne, John (Winchester) Higgins, Rt Hon Terence L.
Burns, Simon Hill, James
Burt, Alistair Hind, Kenneth
Butcher, John Howarth, Alan (Strat'd-on-A)
Butler, Chris Howarth, G. (Cannock & B'wd)
Butterfill, John Howell, Ralph (North Norfolk)
Campbell, Menzies (Fife NE) Howells, Geraint
Carlisle, John, (Luton N) Hughes, Simon (Southwark)
Carlisle, Kenneth (Lincoln) Hunt, David (Wirral W)
Carrington, Matthew Irvine, Michael
Carttiss, Michael Jack, Michael
Cash, William Janman, Tim
Chalker, Rt Hon Mrs Lynda Johnson Smith, Sir Geoffrey
Chapman, Sydney Jones, Gwilym (Cardiff N)
Clark, Dr Michael (Rochtord) Kellett-Bowman, Dame Elaine
Clark, Sir W. (Croydon S) Kennedy, Charles
Conway, Derek Key, Robert
Coombs, Anthony (Wyre F'rest) Kilfedder, James
Coombs, Simon (Swindon) King, Roger (B'ham N'thfield)
Cormack, Patrick Knapman, Roger
Couchman, James Knight, Greg (Derby North)
Cran, James Knight, Dame Jill (Edgbaston)
Davies, Q. (Stamf'd & Spald'g) Knowles, Michael
Davis, David (Boothferry) Lang, Ian
Day, Stephen Lawrence, Ivan
Devlin, Tim Lennox-Boyd, Hon Mark
Dorrell, Stephen Lightbown, David
Douglas-Hamilton, Lord James Lilley, Peter
Dover, Den Livsey, Richard
Dunn, Bob Lloyd, Peter (Fareham)
Dykes, Hugh Lord, Michael
Evennett, David Luce, Rt Hon Richard
Fenner, Dame Peggy MacGregor, Rt Hon John
Fishburn, John Dudley Maclean, David
Fookes, Dame Janet McLoughlin, Patrick
Forman, Nigel Major, Rt Hon John
Fowler, Rt Hon Norman Marshall, Michael (Arundel)
Fox, Sir Marcus Mates, Michael
Maxell-Hyslop, Robin Spicer, Michael (S Worcs)
Mills, Iain Steen, Anthony
Miscampbell, Norman Stern, Michael
Mitchell, Andrew (Gedling) Stevens, Lewis
Mitchell, Sir David Stewart, Andy (Sherwood)
Moate, Roger Stewart, Rt Hon Ian (Herts N)
Monro, Sir Hector Stradling Thomas, Sir John
Montgomery, Sir Fergus Taylor, Ian (Esher)
Morris, M (N'hampton S) Taylor, John M (Solihull)
Moss, Malcolm Taylor, Matthew (Truro)
Neale, Gerrard Tebbit, Rt Hon Norman
Nelson, Anthony Temple-Morris, Peter
Neubert, Michael Thatcher, Rt Hon Margaret
Nicholls, Patrick Thompson, D. (Calder Valley)
Nicholson, David (Taunton) Thorne, Neil
Onslow, Rt Hon Cranley Thurnham, Peter
Oppenheim, Phillip Tracey, Richard
Paice, James Trotter, Neville
Patnick, Irvine Vaughan, Sir Gerard
Patten, Rt Hon Chris (Bath) Viggers, Peter
Pawsey, James Waddington, Rt Hon David
Peacock, Mrs Elizabeth Waldegrave, Hon William
Porter, Barry (Wirral S) Walden, George
Porter, David (Waveney) Waller, Gary
Renton, Rt Hon Tim Ward, John
Rhodes James, Robert Wardle, Charles (Bexhill)
Riddick, Graham Watts, John
Roberts, Wyn (Conwy) Wells, Bowen
Roe, Mrs Marion Wheeler, John
Rost, Peter Whitney, Ray
Rowe, Andrew Widdecombe, Ann
Sackville Hon Tom Wiggin, Jerry
Shaw, David (Dover) Wilshire, David
Shaw, Sir Michael (Scarb') Winterton, Nicholas
Shelton, Sir William Wolfson, Mark
Shephard, Mrs G. (Norfolk SW) Wood, Timothy
Shepherd, Colin (Hereford) Woodcock, Dr. Mike
Shepherd, Richard (Aldridge) Yeo, Tim
Shersby, Michael
Sims, Roger Tellers for the Ayes:
Skeet, Sir Trevor Mr. Tony Durant and
Speed, Keith Mr. Nicholas Baker.
Spicer, Sir Jim (Dorset W)
Bennett, A. F. (D'nfn & R'dish) Skinner, Dennis
Canavan, Dennis
Cohen, Harry Tellers for the Noes:
Cryer, Bob Mr. Win Griffiths and
Loyden, Eddie Mr. Alan W. Williams.
Nellist, Dave

Question accordingly agreed to.