HC Deb 23 May 1988 vol 134 cc161-3

'(1) An appeal under section 20, 29, 30, 34, 36, 37, or 38 of the principal Act lies in England and Wales to the Firearms Appeal Tribunal and in Scotland to the Scottish Firearms Appeal Tribunal and an appeal from a decision of any such tribunal on a point of law shall lie in England and Wales to the Divisional Court of the High Court of Justice and in Scotland to the Court of Session.

(2) The Home Secretary shall by regulations provide for the establishment of a tribunal or tribunals to determine appeals by persons in England and Wales aggrieved by any decision of a Chief Officer of Police under the principal Act or under this Act.

(3) The Secretary of State for Scotland shall by regulations provide for establishment of a tribunal or tribunals to determine appeals by persons in Scotland aggrieved by any decision of a Chief Constable under the principal Act or this Act.

(4) Regulations made by the Home Secretary or the Secretary of State for Scotland may include provision for summoning persons to attend and give evidence and produce documents and for authorising the administration of Oaths to witnesses.

(5) There shall be defrayed out of moneys provided by Parliament any administrative expenses incurred by the Home Secretary or the Secretary of State for Scotland for the purposes of the principal Act or this Act.

(6) Section 14 of the Firearms Act is repealed.'.—[Mr. William Ross.]

Brought up, and read the First time.

Question put, That the clause be read a Second time:—

The House divided: Ayes 10, Noes 232.

Division No. 320] [1.16 am
Barnes, Harry (Derbyshire NE) Ross, William (Londonderry E)
Bruce, Malcolm (Gordon) Skinner, Dennis
Cook, Frank (Stockton N) Welsh, Andrew (Angus E)
Dixon, Don
McAllion, John Tellers for the Ayes:
Molyneaux, Rt Hon James Mr. Bob Cryer and
Moonie, Dr Lewis Mr. Pat Wall.
Alexander, Richard Goodhart, Sir Philip
Alison, Rt Hon Michael Goodlad, Alastair
Allason, Rupert Goodson-Wickes, Dr Charles
Amess, David Gorman, Mrs Teresa
Amos, Alan Gorst, John
Arbuthnot, James Gow, Ian
Arnold, Jacques (Gravesham) Gower, Sir Raymond
Arnold, Tom (Hazel Grove) Greenway, Harry (Ealing N)
Ashby, David Greenway, John (Ryedale)
Atkinson, David Gregory, Conal
Baker, Nicholas (Dorset N) Griffiths, Sir Eldon (Bury St E')
Baldry, Tony Grist, Ian
Batiste, Spencer Ground, Patrick
Beaumont-Dark, Anthony Gummer, Rt Hon John Selwyn
Beith, A. J. Hamilton, Hon Archie (Epsom)
Bellingham, Henry Hamilton, Neil (Tatton)
Bennett, Nicholas (Pembroke) Hanley, Jeremy
Bevan, David Gilroy Hargreaves, A. (B'ham H'll Gr')
Biffen, Rt Hon John Hargreaves, Ken (Hyndburn)
Blackburn, Dr John G. Harris, David
Blaker, Rt Hon Sir Peter Hawkins, Christopher
Bonsor, Sir Nicholas Hayes, Jerry
Boswell, Tim Heathcoat-Amory, David
Bottomley, Mrs Virginia Heddle, John
Bowden, A (Brighton K'pto'n) Hicks, Mrs Maureen (Wolv' NE)
Bowden, Gerald (Dulwich) Hind, Kenneth
Bowis, John Hogg, Hon Douglas (Gr'th'm)
Brandon-Bravo, Martin Howarth, Alan (Strat'd-on-A)
Brazier, Julian Howarth, G. (Cannock & B'wd)
Bright, Graham Howell, Ralph (North Norfolk)
Brittan, Rt Hon Leon Hughes, Robert G. (Harrow W)
Brooke, Rt Hon Peter Hunt, David (Wirral W)
Brown, Michael (Brigg & Cl't's) Hunt, John (Ravensbourne)
Browne, John (Winchester) Hurd, Rt Hon Douglas
Buchanan-Smith, Rt Hon Alick Irvine, Michael
Burns, Simon Jack, Michael
Burt, Alistair Janman, Tim
Butler, Chris Jessel, Toby
Butterfill, John Johnson Smith, Sir Geoffrey
Campbell, Menzies (Fife NE) Jones, Robert B (Herts W)
Carlisle, John, (Luton N) King, Roger (B'ham N'thfield)
Carlisle, Kenneth (Lincoln) Kirkhope, Timothy
Carrington, Matthew Knapman, Roger
Cash, William Knight, Greg (Derby North)
Chapman, Sydney Knight, Dame Jill (Edgbaston)
Chope, Christopher Knowles, Michael
Clark, Hon Alan (Plym'th S'n) Lang, Ian
Colvin, Michael Latham, Michael
Conway, Derek Lawrence, Ivan
Coombs, Anthony (Wyre F'rest) Leigh, Edward (Gainsbor'gh)
Coombs, Simon (Swindon) Lennox-Boyd, Hon Mark
Couchman, James Lester, Jim (Broxtowe)
Cran, James Lightbown, David
Currie, Mrs Edwina Lilley, Peter
Curry, David Lloyd, Peter (Fareham)
Davies, Q. (Stamf'd & Spald'g) Lord, Michael
Davis, David (Boothferry) MacGregor, Rt Hon John
Day, Stephen Maclean, David
Dorrell, Stephen McLoughlin, Patrick
Douglas-Hamilton, Lord James McNair-Wilson, M. (Newbury)
Dover, Den McNair-Wilson, P. (New Forest)
Dunn, Bob Malins, Humfrey
Durant, Tony Mans, Keith
Emery, Sir Peter Marland, Paul
Evans, David (Welwyn Hatf'd) Marshall, John (Hendon S)
Fallon, Michael Martin, David (Portsmouth S)
Farr, Sir John Maxwell-Hyslop, Robin
Favell, Tony Mayhew, Rt Hon Sir Patrick
Fenner, Dame Peggy Miller, Hal
Field, Barry (Isle of Wight) Mills, lain
Fookes, Miss Janet Mitchell, Andrew (Gedling)
Forman, Nigel Mitchell, David (Hants NW)
Forsyth, Michael (Stirling) Monro, Sir Hector
Forth, Eric Morris, M (N'hampton S)
Franks, Cecil Morrison, Hon Sir Charles
Freeman, Roger Moss, Malcolm
French, Douglas Nelson, Anthony
Gale, Roger Neubert, Michael
Gill, Christopher Newton, Rt Hon Tony
Nicholson, David (Taunton) Stevens, Lewis
Oppenheim, Phillip Stewart, Andy (Sherwood)
Page, Richard Sumberg, David
Paice, James Summerson, Hugo
Patnick, Irvine Tapsell, Sir Peter
Pawsey, James Taylor, Ian (Esher)
Peacock, Mrs Elizabeth Thompson, D. (Calder Valley)
Porter, David (Waveney) Thompson, Patrick (Norwich N)
Portillo, Michael Thorne, Neil
Powell, William (Corby) Thurnham, Peter
Raffan, Keith Townsend, Cyril D. (B'heath)
Raison, Rt Hon Timothy Tracey, Richard
Redwood, John Tredinnick, David
Renton, Tim Trotter, Neville
Rhodes James, Robert Twinn, Dr Ian
Riddick, Graham Vaughan, Sir Gerard
Roberts, Wyn (Conwy) Waddington, Rt Hon David
Roe, Mrs Marion Walden, George
Rossi, Sir Hugh Walker, Bill (T'side North)
Rumbold, Mrs Angela Wallace, James
Ryder, Richard Ward, John
Sackville, Hon Tom Wardle, Charles (Bexhill)
Sainsbury, Hon Tim Watts, John
Sayeed, Jonathan Wells, Bowen
Shaw, David (Dover) Wheeler, John
Shaw, Sir Giles (Pudsey) Widdecombe, Ann
Shaw, Sir Michael (Scarb') Wiggin, Jerry
Shelton, William (Streatham) Wilkinson, John
Shephard, Mrs G. (Norfolk SW) Wilshire, David
Shepherd, Colin (Hereford) Winterton, Mrs Ann
Smith, Sir Dudley (Warwick) Winterton, Nicholas
Soames, Hon Nicholas Wolfson, Mark
Speed, Keith Wood, Timothy
Speller, Tony Yeo, Tim
Spicer, Sir Jim (Dorset W) Young, Sir George (Acton)
Spicer, Michael (S Worcs)
Squire, Robin Tellers for the Noes:
Stanbrook, Ivor Mr. Robert Boscawen and
Stern, Michael Mr. Tristan Garel-Jones.

Question accordingly negatived.

Forward to