HC Deb 21 December 1988 vol 144 c456

Mr. Lawrence Cunliffe, supported by Mr. Alfred Morris, Mr. Jack Ashley, Mr. John Hannam, Mr. Charles Irving, Mr. Jonathan Aitken. Mr. Archy Kirkwood, Mr. Jim Lester, Miss Janet Fookes, Mr. Dafydd Wigley, Mr. George Howarth and Mr. Sean Hughes, presented a Bill to establish a Board to make recommendations for the levels of compensation awarded to injured persons; to place a duty on the courts to have regard to such recommendations and to actuarial evidence in awarding compensation; to increase the amount of damages paid in the event of bereavement and to extend the categories of persons entitled to receive such damages: And the same was read the First time; and ordered to be read a Second time on Friday 3 March and to be printed [Bill 19].