HC Deb 09 June 1986 vol 99 cc72-5

1. — (1) For the purposes of the health and safety legislation:

  1. (a) a health authority shall not be regarded as the servant or agent of the Crown, or as enjoying any status, immunity or privilege of the Crown; and
  2. (b) premises used by a health authority shall not be regarded as property of or property held on behalf of the Crown.

(2) The appropriate authority may by regulations provide who is to be treated as the user, occupier or owner of any such premises for any of those purposes; and

(3) The powers to make regulations altered by subsection (2) above shall be exercisable by statutory instrument.

(4) A statutory instrument containing regulations made in the exercise of the power conferred by that subsection shall not be made unless a draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and approved by a resolution of each House.

(5) Section 125 of the 1977 Act and section of the 1979 Act shall have no effect in relation to any action, liability, claim or demand arising out of the health and safety legislation.'.—[Dr. Marek.]

Brought up, and read the First time.

Question put, That the clause be read a Second time:—

The House divided: Ayes 124, Noes 192.

Division No. 212] [7.46 pm
Abse, Leo Hughes, Dr Mark (Durham)
Adams, Allen (Paisley N) John, Brynmor
Alton, David Jones, Barry (Alyn & Deeside)
Ashley, Rt Hon Jack Kennedy, Charles
Ashton, Joe Leadbitter, Ted
Atkinson, N. (Tottenham) Leighton, Ronald
Banks, Tony (Newham NW) Lewis, Ron (Carlisle)
Barron, Kevin Lewis, Terence (Worsley)
Beckett, Mrs Margaret Livsey, Richard
Benn, Rt Hon Tony McCartney, Hugh
Bidwell, Sydney Maclennan, Robert
Blair, Anthony McWilliam, John
Boothroyd, Miss Betty Madden, Max
Boyes, Roland Marek, Dr John
Brown, N. (N'c'tle-u-Tyne E) Maxton, John
Brown, R. (N'c'tle-u-Tyne N) Maynard, Miss Joan
Bruce, Malcolm Meacher, Michael
Buchan, Norman Michie, William
Caborn, Richard Mikardo, Ian
Callaghan, Jim (Heyw'd & M) Millan, Rt Hon Bruce
Campbell-Savours, Dale Miller, Dr M. S. (E Kilbride)
Clark, Dr David (S Shields) Nellist, David
Clarke, Thomas Oakes, Rt Hon Gordon
Clay, Robert Park, George
Clwyd, Mrs Ann Patchett, Terry
Cohen, Harry Pendry, Tom
Coleman, Donald Powell, Raymond (Ogmore)
Cook, Frank (Stockton North) Radice, Giles
Cook, Robin F. (Livingston) Raynsford, Nick
Corbett, Robin Redmond, Martin
Corbyn, Jeremy Richardson, Ms Jo
Cox, Thomas (Tooting) Roberts, Ernest (Hackney N)
Crowther, Stan Robertson, George
Cunliffe, Lawrence Rogers, Allan
Davis, Terry (B'ham, H'ge H'l) Rooker, J. W.
Deakins, Eric Shore, Rt Hon Peter
Dixon, Donald Short, Ms Clare (Ladywood)
Dobson, Frank Short, Mrs H.(W'hampt'n NE)
Dormand, Jack Skinner, Dennis
Douglas, Dick Smith, C.(Isl'ton S & F'bury)
Dubs, Alfred Snape, Peter
Eadie, Alex Soley, Clive
Eastham, Ken Spearing, Nigel
Edwards, Bob (W'h'mpt'n SE) Stewart, Rt Hon D. (W Isles)
Evans, John (St. Helens N) Stott, Roger
Fatchett, Derek Strang, Gavin
Faulds, Andrew Thomas, Dafydd (Merioneth)
Field, Frank (Birkenhead) Thomas, Dr R. (Carmarthen)
Fields, T. (L'pool Broad Gn) Thorne, Stan (Preston)
Fisher, Mark Tinn, James
Flannery, Martin Wainwright, R.
Foot, Rt Hon Michael Wallace, James
Forrester, John Wardell, Gareth (Gower)
Foster, Derek Wareing, Robert
Fraser, J. (Norwood) Weetch, Ken
George, Bruce Welsh, Michael
Gourlay, Harry Wigley, Dafydd
Hamilton, James (M'well N) Williams, Rt Hon A.
Hamilton, W. W. (Fife Central) Wilson, Gordon
Hardy, Peter Winnick, David
Heffer, Eric S.
Hogg, N. (C'nauld & Kilsyth) Tellers for the Ayes:
Howells, Geraint Mr. Frank Haynes and Mr. Ron Davies.
Hoyle, Douglas
Alexander, Richard Batiste, Spencer
Alison, Rt Hon Michael Beaumont-Dark, Anthony
Amess, David Bellingham, Henry
Arnold, Tom Bendall, Vivian
Ashby, David Best, Keith
Aspinwall, Jack Blackburn, John
Atkins, Robert (South Ribble) Blaker, Rt Hon Sir Peter
Atkinson, David (B'm'th E) Bonsor, Sir Nicholas
Baker, Nicholas (Dorset N) Bottomley, Peter
Bottomley, Mrs Virginia Hunter, Andrew
Bowden, Gerald (Dulwich) Jackson, Robert
Braine, Rt Hon Sir Bernard Jessel, Toby
Bright, Graham Jones, Gwilym (Cardiff N)
Brinton, Tim Jones, Robert (Herts W)
Brown, M. (Brigg & Cl'thpes) Joseph, Rt Hon Sir Keith
Browne, John Kellett-Bowman, Mrs Elaine
Bruinvels, Peter Key, Robert
Buchanan-Smith, Rt Hon A. Knight, Greg (Derby N)
Buck, Sir Antony Knowles, Michael
Burt, Alistair Lang, Ian
Butterfill, John Latham, Michael
Carlisle, Kenneth (Lincoln) Lawler, Geoffrey
Carlisle, Rt Hon M. (W'ton S) Lawrence, Ivan
Cash, William Leigh, Edward (Gainsbor'gh)
Chapman, Sydney Lennox-Boyd, Hon Mark
Chope, Christopher Lewis, Sir Kenneth (Stamf'd)
Clark, Hon A. (Plym'th S'n) Lightbown, David
Clark, Sir W. (Croydon S) Lilley, Peter
Colvin, Michael Lloyd, Ian (Havant)
Conway, Derek Lloyd, Peter (Fareham)
Coombs, Simon Lord, Michael
Cope, John Luce, Rt Hon Richard
Cormack, Patrick Lyell, Nicholas
Corrie, John McCurley, Mrs Anna
Couchman, James Macfarlane, Neil
Cranborne, Viscount MacKay, Andrew (Berkshire)
Critchley, Julian MacKay, John (Argyll & Bute)
Crouch, David McLoughlin, Patrick
Currie, Mrs Edwina McQuarrie, Albert
Dickens, Geoffrey Major, John
Dicks, Terry Malins, Humfrey
Douglas-Hamilton, Lord J. Malone, Gerald
Dover, Den Maples, John
Durant, Tony Marland, Paul
Edwards, Rt Hon N. (P'broke) Marlow, Antony
Eggar, Tim Marshall, Michael (Arundel)
Emery, Sir Peter Mates, Michael
Evennett, David Maxwell-Hyslop, Robin
Eyre, Sir Reginald Merchant, Piers
Fairbairn, Nicholas Miller, Hal (B'grove)
Fallon, Michael Mills, Iain (Meriden)
Favell, Anthony Mills, Sir Peter (West Devon)
Finsberg, Sir Geoffrey Miscampbell, Norman
Fookes, Miss Janet Moate, Roger
Forsyth, Michael (Stirling) Montgomery, Sir Fergus
Forth, Eric Moore, Rt Hon John
Fraser, Peter (Angus East) Moynihan, Hon C.
Freeman, Roger Nelson, Anthony
Gale, Roger Newton, Tony
Gardiner, George (Reigate) Nicholls, Patrick
Gardner, Sir Edward (Fylde) Norris, Steven
Garel-Jones, Tristan Ottaway, Richard
Goodhart, Sir Philip Page, Richard (Herts SW)
Goodlad, Alastair Percival, Rt Hon Sir Ian
Gorst, John Pollock, Alexander
Gower, Sir Raymond Porter, Barry
Greenway, Harry Powell, William (Corby)
Gregory, Conal Powley, John
Griffiths, Peter (Portsm'th N) Price, Sir David
Ground, Patrick Proctor, K. Harvey
Hamilton, Hon A. (Epsom) Raffan, Keith
Hamilton, Neil (Tatton) Rathbone, Tim
Hargreaves, Kenneth Rhodes James, Robert
Harris, David Rhys Williams, Sir Brandon
Hawkins, C. (High Peak) Ridsdale, Sir Julian
Hawkins, Sir Paul (N'folk SW) Sackville, Hon Thomas
Hawksley, Warren Sayeed, Jonathan
Hayes, J. Shaw, Giles (Pudsey)
Hayhoe, Rt Hon Barney Shaw, Sir Michael (Scarb')
Hayward, Robert Silvester, Fred
Heathcoat-Amory, David Sims, Roger
Heddle, John Skeet, Sir Trevor
Henderson, Barry Smith, Tim (Beaconsfield)
Higgins, Rt Hon Terence L. Soames, Hon Nicholas
Hind, Kenneth Spicer, Michael (S Worcs)
Hirst, Michael Squire, Robin
Holt, Richard Stevens, Lewis (Nuneaton)
Howard, Michael Stewart, Andrew (Sherwood)
Hubbard-Miles, Peter Taylor, Teddy (S'end E)
Thompson, Donald (Calder V) Waller, Gary
Thompson, Patrick (N'ich N) Watson, John
Thorne, Neil (Ilford S) Wells, Bowen (Hertford)
Thurnham, Peter Whitney, Raymond
Townend, John (Bridlington) Wood, Timothy
Twinn, Dr Ian
Vaughan, Sir Gerard Tellers for the Noes:
Viggers, Peter Mr. Tim Sainsbury and Mr. Francis Maude.
Wakeham, Rt Hon John

Question accordingly negatived.

Forward to