HC Deb 17 December 1986 vol 107 c1324

Motion made, and Question proposed,

That, in accordance with the resolution of 16th June in the last Session of Parliament, a Select Committee of seven Members be appointed to join with a Committee to be appointed by the Lords to examine the process of enacting Private Legislation and to consider whether:

  1. (a) there are any matters of a kind at present dealt with by Private Bill which could more appropriately be dealt with some other way, taking account of the interests both of Promoters and other affected parties;
  2. (b) any changes arc desirable in Private Bill procedure; and
  3. (c) any amendments are desirable to the Private Legislation Procedure (Scotland) Act 1936 and the procedure thereunder;
and to consider whether any amendments are desirable to the Statutory Orders (Special Procedure) Act 1945.

That the Committee have power to send for persons, papers and records.

That three be the Quorum of the Committee.

That Mrs. Ann Clwyd, Mr. Terry Davis, Sir Anthony Grant, Mr. Patrick McNair-Wilson, Mr. Albert McQuarrie, Mr. Roger Moate and Sir John Stradling Thomas be members of the Committee.—[Mr. Boscawen.]

Mr. Robin Maxwell-Hyslop (Tiverton)

This is debatable, is it not, Mr. Deputy Speaker?

Mr. Deputy Speaker (Mr. Ernest Armstrong)

No, it is after 10 o'clock. It is not debatable.

Mr. Maxwell-Hyslop

On a point of order, Mr. Deputy Speaker. This is a debatable motion.

Mr. Deputy Speaker

But it has not been exempted.

Mr. Maxwell-Hyslop

No; therefore, I understand that it cannot proceed if hon. Members wish to debate it.

Mr. Deputy Speaker

That is correct.

Mr. Maxwell-Hyslop

I wish to debate it, Mr. Deputy Speaker.

Mr. Deputy Speaker

There is an objection. Further consideration what day? No day named.