HC Deb 26 February 1985 vol 74 cc292-3

Amendment proposed, No. 2 in page 1, line 13, at end insert— '(2) There shall be no increase in the fluoride content of the water supplied by a water undertaker in England and Wales unless approval is given for such action by a majority in favour of it in a county council or councils, or in each district council, in the area to be affected.'.—[Mr. Beith.]

Question put, That the amendment be made:—

The House divided: Ayes 54, Noes 124.

Division No. 133] [12.25 am
Ashdown, Paddy Knight, Gregory (Derby N)
Beaumont-Dark, Anthony Knowles, Michael
Best, Keith Lawrence, Ivan
Biggs-Davison, Sir John Leigh, Edward (Gainsbor'gh)
Boyes, Roland Lewis, Terence (Worsley)
Brandon-Bravo, Martin McGuire, Michael
Brown, M. (Brigg & Cl'thpes) Maclean, David John
Budgen, Nick Marlow, Antony
Campbell-Savours, Dale Maynard, Miss Joan
Carttiss, Michael Merchant, Piers
Cocks, Rt Hon M. (Bristol S.) Morris, M. (N'hampton, S)
Conway, Derek Penhaligon, David
Fairbairn, Nicholas Rowe, Andrew
Forsyth, Michael (Stirling) Shepherd, Richard (Aldridge)
Forth, Eric Skinner, Dennis
Galley, Roy Smith, Sir Dudley (Warwick)
Golding, John Stevens, Martin (Fulham)
Grist, Ian Stewart, Andrew (Sherwood)
Ground, Patrick Terlezki, Stefan
Hamilton, Neil (Tatton) Twinn, Dr Ian
Hawkins, C. (High Peak) Wallace, James
Haynes, Frank Wigley, Dafydd
Hayward, Robert Williams, Rt Hon A.
Holt, Richard Winterton, Mrs Ann
Howarth, Alan (Stratf'd-on-A) Winterton, Nicholas
Howarth, Gerald (Cannock)
Hubbard-Miles, Peter Tellers for the Ayes:
Hughes, Simon (Southwark) Mr. A. J. Beith and
Jones, Gwilym (Cardiff N) Mr. Malcolm Bruce.
Ancram, Michael Brittan, Rt Hon Leon
Arnold, Tom Brown, N. (N'c'tle-u-Tyne E)
Atkins, Robert (South Ribble) Buchanan-Smith, Rt Hon A.
Atkinson, David (B'm'th E) Burt, Alistair
Baker, Rt Hon K. (Mole Vall'y) Butcher, John
Baker, Nicholas (N Dorset) Carlisle, Kenneth (Lincoln)
Banks, Tony (Newham NW) Chalker, Mrs Lynda
Biffen, Rt Hon John Channon, Rt Hon Paul
Boscawen, Hon Robert Clark, Dr Michael (Rochford)
Bottomley, Peter Clarke, Rt Hon K. (Rushcliffe)
Boyson, Dr Rhodes Colvin, Michael
Bright, Graham Coombs, Simon
Cope, John Patten, Christopher (Bath)
Couchman, James Patten, J. (Oxf W & Abdgn)
Currie, Mrs Edwina Pattie, Geoffrey
Dobson, Frank Pawsey, James
Dorrell, Stephen Pike, Peter
Douglas-Hamilton, Lord J. Pollock, Alexander
Dunn, Robert Powley, John
Durant, Tony Raison, Rt Hon Timothy
Edwards, Rt Hon N. (P'broke) Rathbone, Tim
Eggar, Tim Ridley, Rt Hon Nicholas
Evans, John (St. Helens N) Rifkind, Malcolm
Fatchett, Derek Roberts, Wyn (Conwy)
Fenner, Mrs Peggy Robinson, Mark (N'port W)
Fowler, Rt Hon Norman Roe, Mrs Marion
Gale, Roger Rumbold, Mrs Angela
Garel-Jones, Tristan Ryder, Richard
Goodlad, Alastair Sainsbury, Hon Timothy
Gow, Ian Sayeed, Jonathan
Gummer, John Selwyn Scott, Nicholas
Henderson, Barry Shaw, Giles (Pudsey)
Hind, Kenneth Shepherd, Colin (Hereford)
Howard, Michael Smith, Tim (Beaconsfield)
Hunt, David (Wirral) Soames, Hon Nicholas
Jenkin, Rt Hon Patrick Spencer, Derek
Jessel, Toby Spicer, Michael (S Worcs)
Joseph, Rt Hon Sir Keith Squire, Robin
King, Roger (B'ham N'field) Stanley, John
Lang, Ian Stevens, Lewis (Nuneaton)
Lee, John (Pendle) Stewart, Allan (Eastwood)
Lennox-Boyd, Hon Mark Stradling Thomas, J.
Lilley, Peter Thompson, Donald (Calder V)
Lloyd, Tony (Stretford) Thurnham, Peter
Luce, Richard Tracey, Richard
Lyell, Nicholas Trippier, David
Macfarlane, Neil Viggers, Peter
MacKay, John (Argyll & Bute) Waddington, David
Major, John Waldegrave, Hon William
Marland, Paul Walden, George
Mather, Carol Wardle, C. (Bexhill)
Maude, Hon Francis Watson, John
Mayhew, Sir Patrick Watts, John
Mellor, David Wheeler, John
Miller, Hal (B'grove) Whitney, Raymond
Monro, Sir Hector Wiggin, Jerry
Moynihan, Hon C. Wolfson, Mark
Needham, Richard Wood, Timothy
Nelson, Anthony Young, Sir George (Acton)
Neubert, Michael Younger, Rt Hon George
Newton, Tony
Nicholls, Patrick Tellers for the Noes:
Page, Sir John (Harrow W) Mr. Archie Hamilton and
Page, Richard (Herts SW) Mr. Peter Lloyd.

Question accordingly negatived.

Further consideration adjourned. — [Mr. Kenneth Clarke.]

Bill, as amended in the Standing Committee, to be further considered this day.

Mr. Golding

On a point of order, Mr. Deputy Speaker. I consider it a great discourtesy that the Minister moved that further consideration be adjourned after I had travelled a long way to speak. My point of order is that we could not hear the reply when you asked "What day?" On what day is the Bill to be taken again?

Mr. Deputy Speaker

This day.

Back to