HC Deb 02 May 1984 vol 59 cc513-6

Amendments made: No. 110, in line 1, leave out from '1958' to 'to' in line 3.

No. 111, in Title, line 6, leave out

'and finance in the National Health Service'

and insert

'finance in the National Health Service and certain functions of the Secretary of State' .—[Mr. Kenneth Clarke.]

Order for Third Reading read.

[Queen's Consent, on behalf of the Crown, signified.]

Motion made, and Question proposed, That the Bill be now read the Third time.

2.35 am
Mr. Meadowcroft

I do not wish to detain the House. Those who have taken part in the debate today should not be inhibited by the fact that the usual channels and the Government managers could not arrange that such an important debate on such an important Bill should take place on a day and at a time when it could be discussed properly. The Third Reading should not be taking place at 2.35 am.

When the Secretary of State first informed the House about the main content of the legislation — the provisions relating to opticians and optical services—our instinct was to be more sympathetic towards it than in the event we were able to be. When the Second Reading took place, it seemed on balance to me and my colleagues that we should oppose it. And as the debate today has progressed, we have come closer and closer to the view that the whole basis of the optical service provisions is wrong. On those grounds as well as because many of us are unhappy about some of the social security provisions because splitting off the FPCs and making them free-standing is unacceptable to us, I shall decline to give the Bill a Third reading.

Question put, That the Bill be now read the Third time:—

The House divided: Ayes 118, Noes 20.

Division No. 276] [2.36 am
Alexander, Richard Maude, Hon Francis
Alison, Rt Hon Michael Mayhew, Sir Patrick
Amess, David Meyer, Sir Anthony
Ashby, David Miller, Hal (B'grove)
Baker, Nicholas (N Dorset) Mills, lain (Meriden)
Batiste, Spencer Mitchell, David (NW Hants)
Bellingham, Henry Moynihan, Hon C.
Bendall, Vivian Murphy, Christopher
Benyon, William Newton, Tony
Berry, Sir Anthony Nicholls, Patrick
Biffen, Rt Hon John Norris, Steven
Boscawen, Hon Robert Osborn, Sir John
Boyson, Dr Rhodes Ottaway, Richard
Brandon-Bravo, Martin Page, Richard (Herts SW)
Bright, Graham Peacock, Mrs Elizabeth
Brinton, Tim Powell, William (Corby)
Brooke, Hon Peter Powley, John
Brown, M. (Brigg & Cl'thpes) Proctor, K. Harvey
Burt, Alistair Rhys Williams, Sir Brandon
Butterfill, John Robinson, Mark (N'port W)
Chapman, Sydney Rowe, Andrew
Chope, Christopher Sackville, Hon Thomas
Clarke, Rt Hon K. (Rushcliffe) Sainsbury, Hon Timothy
Colvin, Michael Shaw, Sir Michael (Scarb')
Conway, Derek Shelton, William (Streatham)
Coombs, Simon Sims, Roger
Cope, John Smith, Tim (Beaconsfield)
Couchman, James Soames, Hon Nicholas
Cranborne, Viscount Speed, Keith
Currie, Mrs Edwina Speller, Tony
Dorrell, Stephen Spencer, Derek
Dover, Den Squire, Robin
Dunn, Robert Stanbrook, Ivor
Evennett, David Stern, Michael
Fallon, Michael Stevens, Lewis (Nuneaton)
Forth, Eric Stevens, Martin (Fulham)
Fowler, Rt Hon Norman Stewart, Allan (Eastwood)
Gale, Roger Stradling Thomas, J.
Garel-Jones, Tristan Taylor, Teddy (S'end E)
Goodhart, Sir Philip Thompson, Donald (Calder V)
Goodlad, Alastair Thompson, Patrick (N'ich N)
Grant, Sir Anthony Thorne, Neil (Ilford S)
Gummer, John Selwyn Thurnham, Peter
Hamilton, Hon A. (Epsom) Tracey, Richard
Hayhoe, Barney Twinn, Dr Ian
Hickmet, Richard van Straubenzee, Sir W.
Holt, Richard Viggers, Peter
Howarth, Gerald (Cannock) Wakeham, Rt Hon John
Jackson, Robert Walden, George
Lester, Jim Waller, Gary
Lilley, Peter Wardle, C. (Bexhill)
Lloyd, Ian (Havant) Wheeler, John
Lloyd, Peter, (Fareham) Whitfield, John
Lord, Michael Wilkinson, John
Lyell, Nicholas Wolfson, Mark
Macfarlane, Neil Wood, Timothy
MacGregor, John Young, Sir George (Acton)
Maclean, David John
Major, John Tellers for the Ayes:
Malins, Humfrey Mr. Douglas Hogg and
Mather, Carol Mr. Michael Neubert.
Beckett, Mrs Margaret Corbyn, Jeremy
Bermingham, Gerald Dobson, Frank
Bruce, Malcolm Harman, Ms Harriet
Campbell-Savours, Dale Hughes, Simon (Southwark)
Cocks, Rt Hon M. (Bristol S.) Kennedy, Charles
Kirkwood, Archibald Skinner, Dennis
Knight, Mrs Jill (Edgbaston) Wallace, James
Lloyd, Tony (Stretford) Williams, Rt Hon A.
Meacher, Michael
Meadowcroft, Michael Tellers for the Noes:
Nellist, David Mr. Frank Haynes and
Pike, Peter Mr. Norman Hogg.

Question accordingly agreed to.

Bill read the Third time and passed.