HC Deb 27 July 1984 vol 64 cc1396-7

Motion made, and Question put, That Mr. Mark Robinson be discharged from the Foreign Affairs Committee and Mr. Robert Harvey be added to the Committee.—[Mr. Fox, on behalf of the Committee of Selection.]

The House divided: Ayes 86, Noes 19.

Division No. 448] [11.07 am
Baker, Rt Hon K. (Mole Vall'y) Knight, Gregory (Derby N)
Bermingham, Gerald Lang, Ian
Berry, Sir Anthony Lilley, Peter
Best, Keith Lloyd, Peter, (Fareham)
Biffen, Rt Hon John Lord, Michael
Boscawen, Hon Robert Mackenzie, Rt Hon Gregor
Bowden, Gerald (Dulwich) Major, John
Braine, Sir Bernard Malone, Gerald
Brown, R. (N'c'tle-u-Tyne N) Mather, Carol
Buchan, Norman Mellor, David
Buck, Sir Antony Merchant, Piers
Burt, Alistair Miller, Hal (B'grove)
Channon, Rt Hon Paul Molyneaux, Rt Hon James
Clarke, Rt Hon K. (Rushcliffe) Montgomery, Fergus
Clarke, Thomas Moore, John
Cocks, Rt Hon M. (Bristol S.) Neubert, Michael
Coombs, Simon Newton, Tony
Cope, John Parry, Robert
Cox, Thomas (Tooting) Pavitt, Laurie
Cunningham, Dr John Raison, Rt Hon Timothy
Currie, Mrs Edwina Rees, Rt Hon Peter (Dover)
Dalyell, Tam Shelton, William (Streatham)
Douglas-Hamilton, Lord J. Spearing, Nigel
du Cann, Rt Hon Edward Stanbrook, Ivor
Dykes, Hugh Steen, Anthony
Emery, Sir Peter Stern, Michael
Evans, John (St. Helens N) Stewart, Ian (N Hertf'dshire)
Finsberg, Sir Geoffrey Straw, Jack
Fookes, Miss Janet Tebbit, Rt Hon Norman
Fox, Marcus Temple-Morris, Peter
Goodlad, Alastair Thorne, Neil (Ilford S)
Gow, Ian Torney, Tom
Gregory, Conal Wakeham, Rt Hon John
Hattersley, Rt Hon Roy Walden, George
Hayhoe, Barney Walters, Dennis
Heffer, Eric S. Wardle, C. (Bexhill)
Henderson, Barry Watts, John
Hickmet, Richard Wells, Bowen (Hertford)
Hogg, Hon Douglas (Gr'th'm) Wheeler, John
Hogg, N. (C'nauld & Kilsyth) Whitney, Raymond
Holland, Stuart (Vauxhall) Wood, Timothy
Howard, Michael
Hunt, David (Wirral) Tellers for the Ayes:
Janner, Hon Greville Mr. Albert McQuarrie and Mr. Eric Forth.
Jones, Robert (W Herts)
Alton, David Penhaligon, David
Ashdown, Paddy Skinner, Dennis
Beith, A. J. Smith, Cyril (Rochdale)
Bruce, Malcolm Steel, Rt Hon David
Cohen, Harry Wainwright, R.
Corbyn, Jeremy Wallace, James
Freud, Clement Wareing, Robert
Howells, Geraint
Hughes, Simon (Southwark) Tellers for the Noes:
Johnston, Russell Mr. Archy Kirkwood and Mr. Charles Kennedy.
Nellist, David
Owen, Rt Hon Dr David

Question accordingly agreed to.

Ordered, That Mr. Mark Robinson be discharged from the Foreign Affairs Committee and Mr. Robert Harvey be added to the Committee.

It be more than one and a half hours after the first motion to be moved on behalf of the Committee of Selection had been entered upon, Mr. Deputy Speaker proceeded, pursuant to the order [12 July], to put forwith the Questions necessary to dispose of the remaining motions.

Forward to