HC Deb 21 December 1982 vol 34 c840

Mr. John Wakeham, supported by Mr. Leon Brittan, Mr. Nicholas Ridley, Mr. Barney Hayhoe, Mr. Jock Bruce-Gardyne, Mr. Tom King, and Mr. Norman Lamont, presented a Bill to establish a Development Commission in place of the Commissioners appointed under the Development and Road Improvement Funds Act 1909; to authorise the making of grants by the Secretary of State to bodies promoting industrial or commercial development in areas in England; to extinguish liability in respect of certain guarantees given under the Colonial Loans Act 1949; to amend certain enactments authorising the Treasury to give guarantees; to extend the power of the Crown Estate Commissioners to grant leases; to make provision for the redemption of certain annuities and allowances which have been payable out of public funds since before 1874; to amend section 173A of the Local Government Act 1972; and for connected purposes: And the same was read the First time; and ordered to be read a Second time tomorrow and to be printed. [Bill 52.]