HC Deb 13 December 1982 vol 34 cc86-7

Part of the increased borrowing powers referred to in section 1 shall be used by the Scottish electricity boards to avoid disconnections of electricity supply to households where such disconnection would result in hardship.—[Mr. Canavan.]

8.45 pm

Brought up, and read the First time.

Question put, That the clause be read a Second time:—

The Committee divided: Ayes, 30, Noes, 101.

Division No. 30] [8.45 pm
Buchan, Norman Hamilton, W. W. (C'tral Fife)
Callaghan, Jim (Midd't'n & P) Johnson, James (Hull West)
Canavan, Dennis McKay, Allen (Penistone)
Carmichael, Neil McKelvey, William
Cocks, Rt Hon M. (B'stol S) Mason, Rt Hon Roy
Cowans, Harry Morris, Rt Hon C. (O'shaw)
Cryer, Bob Morton, George
Dalyell, Tam Powell, Raymond (Ogmore)
Dean, Joseph (Leeds West) Ross, Ernest (Dundee West)
Dewar, Donald Smith, Rt Hon J. (N Lanark)
Dixon, Donald Snape, Peter
Dormand, Jack Stott, Roger
Dunwoody, Hon Mrs G. Woolmer, Kenneth
Eastham, Ken
Evans, John (Newton) Tellers for the Ayes:
Ewing, Harry Mr. Frank Haynes and
Hamilton, James (Bothwell) Mr. Norman Hogg.
Alexander, Richard Dorrell, Stephen
Alton, David Douglas-Hamilton, Lord J.
Ancram, Michael Dover, Denshore
Aspinwall, Jack Emery, Sir Peter
Beaumont-Dark, Anthony Fairbairn, Nicholas
Berry, Hon Anthony Fairgrieve, Sir Russell
Boscawen, Hon Robert Fenner, Mrs Peggy
Bottomley, Peter (W'wich W) Fletcher, A. (Ed'nb'gh N)
Bright, Graham Fletcher-Cooke, Sir Charles
Brooke, Hon Peter Fookes, Miss Janet
Brown, Michael(Brigg & Sc'n) Fowler, Rt Hon Norman
Buck, Antony Goodlad, Alastair
Carlisle, John (Luton West) Grant, Anthony (Harrow C)
Chapman, Sydney Greenway, Harry
Clarke, Kenneth (Rushcliffe) Griffiths, Peter Portsm'th N)
Cockeram, Eric Grimond, Rt Hon J.
Cope, John Gummer, John Selwyn
Costain, Sir Albert Hamilton, Hon A.
Cranborne, Viscount Hamilton, Michael (Salisbury)
Hawkins, Sir Paul Parris, Matthew
Henderson, Barry Penhaligon, David
Howell, Ralph (N Norfolk) Proctor, K. Harvey
Hunt, David (Wirral) Rhodes James, Robert
Hunt, John (Ravensbourne) Rumbold, Mrs A. C. R.
Jessel, Toby Sainsbury, Hon Timothy
Johnston, Russell (Inverness) Shepherd, Colin (Hereford)
Jopling, Rt Hon Michael Speed, Keith
Knight, Mrs Jill Speller, Tony
Lee, John Spence, John
Lennox-Boyd, Hon Mark Stanbrook, Ivor
Lester, Jim (Beeston) Stevens, Martin
Lloyd, Peter (Fareham) Stewart, A. (E Renfrewshire)
Loveridge, John Stradling Thomas, J.
Lyell, Nicholas Taylor, Teddy (S'end E)
McCrindle, Robert Thomas, Rt Hon Peter
MacGregor, John Thompson, Donald
McNair-Wilson, M. (N'bury) Thorne, Neil (Ilford South)
Major, John Townend, John (Bridlington)
Marland, Paul Trotter, Neville
Mates, Michael Viggers, Peter
Mather, Carol Waddington, David
Maxwell-Hyslop, Robin Wainwright, R. (Colne V)
Mellor, David Wall, Sir Patrick
Mills, Sir Peter (West Devon) Waller, Gary
Monro, Sir Hector Watson, John
Mudd, David Wells, Bowen
Murphy, Christopher Wheeler, John
Myles, David Younger, Rt Hon George
Neale, Gerrard
Needham, Richard Tellers for the Noes:
Neubert, Michael Mr. Tristan Garel-Jones and Mr. Ian Lang.
Newton, Tony
Osborn, John

Question accordingly negatived.

Bill reported, without amendment.

Motion made, and Question, That the Bill be now read the Third time, put forthwith pursuant to Standing Order No. 56 (Third Reading), and agreed to.

Bill accordingly read the Third time and passed.