HC Deb 30 July 1981 vol 9 cc1239-41

'The Secretary of State shall lay before each House of Parliament, within 12 months of the passing of this Act, draft proposals for the review of enactments concerned with offences relating to the abuse of the countryside.'.—[Mr. Andrew F. Bennett.]

Brought up, and read the First time.

Motion made, and Question proposed, That the clause be read a Second time:

The House divided: Ayes 44, Noes 106.

Division No. 294] [8.38 pm
Beith, A. J. Leighton, Ronald
Bennett, Andrew (St'kp't N) McCartney, Hugh
Cocks, Rt Hon M. (B'stol S) McGuire, Michael (Ince)
Cryer, Bob McKay, Allen (Penistone)
Cunliffe, Lawrence Marks, Kenneth
Dalyell, Tam Millan, Rt Hon Bruce
Davis, T. (B'ham, Stechf'd) Orme, Rt Hon Stanley
Dean, Joseph (Leeds West) Powell, Raymond (Ogmore)
Dixon, Donald Rooker, J. W.
Dormand, Jack Ross, Stephen (Isle of Wight)
Edwards, R. (Whampt'n S E) Skinner, Dennis
Ennals, Rt Hon David Soley, Clive
Foot, Rt Hon Michael Spearing, Nigel
Foulkes, George Stewart, Rt Hon D. (W Isles)
Garrett, John (Norwich S) Stoddart, David
George, Bruce Tinn, James
Graham, Ted Walker, Rt Hon H.(D'caster)
Hamilton, W. W. (C'tral Fife) Welsh, Michael
Hardy, Peter Whitehead, Phillip
Harrison, Rt Hon Walter Winnick, David
Howell, Rt Hon D.
Johnston, Russell (Inverness) Tellers for the Ayes:
Kaufman, Rt Hon Gerald Mr. Frank Haynes and
Kerr, Russell Mr. George Morton.
Alexander, Richard Lyell, Nicholas
Ancram, Michael Macfarlane, Neil
Berry, Hon Anthony Major, John
Biggs-Davison, Sir John Marland, Paul
Blackburn, John Marlow, Tony
Bonsor, Sir Nicholas Mather, Carol
Boscawen, Hon Robert Maxwell-Hyslop, Robin
Bright, Graham Mellor, David
Brinton, Tim Meyer, Sir Anthony
Brooke, Hon Peter Mills, Iain (Meriden)
Brown, Michael (Brigg & Sc'n) Moate, Roger
Bruce-Gardyne, John Monro, Hector
Buck, Antony Montgomery, Fergus
Cadbury, Jocelyn Morrison, Hon P. (Chester)
Carlisle, Kenneth (Lincoln) Murphy, Christopher
Clarke, Kenneth (Rushcliffe) Neale, Gerrard
Colvin, Michael Needham, Richard
Cope, John Neubert, Michael
Cormack, Patrick Newton, Tony
Cranborne, Viscount Normanton, Tom
Dorrell, Stephen Onslow, Cranley
Dover, Denshore Osborn, John
Durant, Tony Page, Rt Hon Sir G. (Crosby)
Farr, John Page, Richard (SW Herts)
Fenner, Mrs Peggy Patten, Christopher (Bath)
Fletcher-Cooke, Sir Charles Prentice, Rt Hon Reg
Goodlad, Alastair Proctor, K. Harvey
Grant, Anthony, (Harrow C) Renton, Tim
Griffiths, Peter (Portsm'th N) Rhys Williams, Sir Brandon
Hampson, Dr Keith Roberts, M. (Cardiff NW)
Hawkins, Paul Roberts, Wyn (Conway)
Hawksley, Warren Rossi, Hugh
Heddle, John Scott, Nicholas
Hill, James Shaw, Giles (Pudsey)
Hogg, Hon Douglas (Gr'th'm) Shepherd, Colin (Hereford)
Hooson, Tom Silvester, Fred
Hurd, Hon Douglas Sims, Roger
Jopling, Rt Hon Michael Speed, Keith
King, Rt Hon Tom Speller, Tony
Le Marchant, Spencer Spicer, Jim (West Dorset)
Lester, Jim (Beeston) Spicer, Michael (S Worcs)
Lloyd, Ian (Havant & W'loo) Stainton, Keith
Lloyd, Peter (Fareham) Stanbrook, Ivor
Stevens, Martin Watson, John
Stradling Thomas, J. Wells, Bowen
Taylor, Teddy (S'end E) Whitney, Raymond
Tebbit, Norman Wickenden, Keith
Thompson, Donald Wilkinson, John
Thome, Neil (Ilford South) Winterton, Nicholas
Townend, John (Bridlington) Wolfson, Mark
van Straubenzee, W. R. Young, Sir George (Acton)
Viggers, Peter
Waddington, David Tellers for the Noes:
Wakeham,John Mr. Selwyn Gummer and
Waller, Gary Lord James Douglas-Hamilton.

Question accordingly negatived.

Forward to