HC Deb 15 July 1981 vol 8 cc1306-7

Amendment proposed: No. 83, in page 41, line 25, after '(a)', insert 'subject to subsection (3) below.—[Mr. David Steel.]

Question put, That the amendment be made:—

The House divided: Ayes 6, Noes 176.

Division No. 279] [12.50 am
Horam, John Wainwright, R. (Colne V)
Howells, Geraint
Penhaligon, David Tellers for the Ayes:
Ross, Stephen (Isle of Wight) Mr. A. J. Beith and
Steel, Rt Hon David Mr. David Alton.
Adley, Robert Emery, Peter
Alexander, Richard Eyre, Reginald
Alison, Michael Fairgrieve, Russell
Ancram, Michael Fenner, Mrs Peggy
Baker, Kenneth (St.M'bone) Fisher, Sir Nigel
Baker, Nicholas (N Dorset) Forman, Nigel
Beaumont-Dark, Anthony Fraser, Peter (South Angus)
Bendall, Vivian Garel-Jones, Tristan
Benyon, W. (Buckingham) Glyn, Dr Alan
Best, Keith Goodlad, Alastair
Bevan, David Gilroy Gorst, John
Biffen, Rt Hon John Gow, Ian
Blackburn, John Gower, Sir Raymond
Blaker, Peter Grant, Anthony (Harrow C)
Boscawen, Hon Robert Gray, Hamish
Bowden, Andrew Griffiths, E. (B'y St. Edm'ds)
Braine, Sir Bernard Griffiths, Peter Portsm'th N)
Bright, Graham Grist, Ian
Brinton, Tim Gummer, John Selwyn
Brittan, Leon Hampson, Dr Keith
Brown, Michael (Brigg & Sc'n) Hastings, Stephen
Buchanan-Smith, Alick Havers, Rt Hon Sir Michael
Buck, Antony Hawksley, Warren
Bulmer, Esmond Henderson, Barry
Butcher, John Heseltine, Rt Hon Michael
Butler, Hon Adam Hicks, Robert
Cadbury, Jocelyn Higgins, Rt Hon Terence L.
Carlisle, John (Luton West) Hogg, Hon Douglas (Gr'th'm)
Carlisle, Kenneth (Lincoln) Holland, Philip (Carlton)
Carlisle, Rt Hon M. (R'c'n) Hooson, Tom
Clark, Sir W. (Croydon S) Hunt, David (Wirral)
Clarke, Kenneth (Rushcliffe) Hunt, John (Ravensbourne)
Colvin, Michael Jenkin, Rt Hon Patrick
Cope, John Jessel, Toby
Corrie, John Jopling, Rt Hon Michael
Cranborne, Viscount Joseph, Rt Hon Sir Keith
Crouch, David Kellett-Bowman, Mrs Elaine
Dean, Paul (North Somerset) King, Rt Hon Tom
Douglas-Hamilton, Lord J. Knight, Mrs Jill
du Cann, Rt Hon Edward Knox, David
Dunn, Robert (Dartford) Lamont, Norman
Durant, Tony Lang, Ian
Eden, Rt Hon Sir John Lawrence, Ivan
Edwards, Rt Hon N. (P'broke) Lawson, Rt Hon Nigel
Eggar, Tim Lennox-Boyd, Hon Mark
Lester, Jim (Beeston) Rossi, Hugh
Lewis, Kenneth (Rutland) Sainsbury, Hon Timothy
Lloyd, Peter (Fareham) Shelton, William (Streatham)
Macfarlane, Neil Shepherd, Colin (Hereford)
MacKay, John (Argyll) Shersby, Michael
McNair-Wilson, M. (N'bury) Silvester, Fred
McNair-Wilson, P. (New F'st) Sims, Roger
McQuarrie, Albert Speed, Keith
Madel, David Speller, Tony
Major, John Spicer, Jim (West Dorset)
Marland, Paul Spicer, Michael (S Worcs)
Marshall, Michael (Arundel) Squire, Robin
Mather, Carol Stanbrook, Ivor
Mawhinney, Dr Brian Stanley, John
Maxwell-Hyslop, Robin Steen, Anthony
Mayhew, Patrick Stevens, Martin
Mills, Iain (Meriden) Stewart, Ian (Hitchin)
Mills, Peter (West Devon) Stewart, A. (E Renfrewshire)
Mitchell, David (Basingstoke) Stradling Thomas, J.
Moate, Roger Taylor, Teddy (S'end E)
Monro, Hector Tebbit, Norman
Morris, M. (N'hampton S) Temple-Morris, Peter
Morrison, Hon P. (Chester) Thomas, Rt Hon Peter
Mudd, David Thompson, Donald
Murphy, Christopher Townsend, Cyril D, (B'heath)
Neale, Gerrard van Straubenzee, W. R.
Needham, Richard Vaughan, Dr Gerard
Newton, Tony Viggers, Peter
Normanton, Tom Wakeham, John
Page, Rt Hon Sir G. (Crosby) Waldegrave, Hon William
Page, Richard (SW Herts) Walker, B. (Perth)
Parris, Matthew Wall, Patrick
Patten, Christopher (Bath) Ward, John
Pattie, Geoffrey Watson, John
Pawsey, James Wells, John (Maidstone)
Percival, Sir Ian Wells, Bowen
Pollock, Alexander Whitney, Raymond
Price, Sir David (Eastleigh) Wickenden, Keith
Proctor, K. Harvey Wiggin, Jerry
Rathbone, Tim Wolfson, Mark
Rees, Peter (Dover and Deal) Young, Sir George (Acton)
Rees-Davies, W. R.
Rhodes James, Robert Tellers for the Noes:
Roberts, M. (Cardiff NW) Mr. Anthony Berry and
Roberts, Wyn (Conway) Mr.Peter Brooke.

Question accordingly negatived.

Amendment made: No. 88, in page 42, line 38, leave out from 'to' to end of line 41 and insert 'equity holders of the company, and for the purposes of this subsection—

  1. (a) the persons who are equity holders of the company; and
  2. (b) the percentage of the assets of the company to which the individual would be entitled,
shall be determined in accordance with paragraphs 1 and 3 of Schedule 12 to the Finance Act 1973, faking references in paragraph 3 to the first company as references to an equity holder and references to a winding up as including references to any other circumstances in which assets of the company are available for distribution to its equity holders.' .—[Mr. Peter Rees.]

Forward to