HC Deb 30 October 1980 vol 991 cc835-7

Motion made, and Question put.

That— (1) A special standing committee to which a bill has been committed under the provisions of Standing Order No. 40 (Committal of bills) shall have power during a period not exceeding 28 days, excluding periods when the House is adjourned for more than two days, from the committal of the bill, to send for persons, papers and records and to hold up to four morning sittings of not more than two and a half hours each. The first such sitting shall be in private and the remainder, which shall be for the purpose of hearing oral evidence, shall be in public. The oral evidence shall be printed in the Official Report together with such written evidence as the committee may order to be so printed. (2) For the sittings referred to in paragraph (1) of this Order, and notwithstanding the provisions of Standing Order No. 61(1) (Chairmen of standing committees) and Standing Order No. 65(1) (Procedure in standing committees)—

  1. (i) Mr. Speaker shall appoint any Member other than a Minister of the Crown as chairman of a special standing committee;
  2. (ii) The chairman shall be included in calculating the quorum of the committee.
(3) When a special standing committee has completed consideration of a Bill, the chairman shall put the question, That I do report the Bill to the House unless a Minister of the Crown shall move 'That the Committee do

now adjourn'. It such a motion is made, the question thereon shall be put forthwith and, notwithstanding the provisions of Standing Order No. 64 (Meetings of standing committees), may be decided after One o'clock.

(4) If the question is agreed to, the committee shall meet again on the day and at the hour named by the chairman to consider any amendments which may be moved by a Minister of the Crown which

  1. (a) arise from undertakings given by Ministers of the Crown during previous sittings of the committee;
  2. (b) are consequent upon previous decisions of the committee;
  3. (c) have been shown to be necessary during the committee's proceedings.

(5) If the proceedings have not been concluded before the end of two and a half hours the Chairman shall interrupt them and put the question 'That I do report the Bill to the House', unless on a motion made by a Minister of the Crown, on which the question shall be put forthwith, the Committee agree that further consideration of the Bill be adjourned, or that the debate be adjourned.

(6) The day and hour of any further sitting shall be named by the chairman, and the provisions of paragraph (5) shall apply thereto.

(7) Except as provided in the foregoing paragraphs, the Standing Orders relating to standing committees shall apply to any special standing committee.

That this be a Standing Order of the House until the end of the next session of Parliament.—[Mr. St. John-Stevas.]

The House divided Ayes 141, Noes 11.

Division No. 482 AYES [10.00 p.m.
Archer, Rt Hon Peter Eyre, Reginald Lamont, Norman
Atkins, Rt Hon H. (Spelthorne) Fairbairn, Nicholas Lester, Jim (Beeston)
Baker, Kenneth (St. Marylebone) Fairgrieve, Russell Lloyd, Ian (Havant & Waterloo)
Baker, Nicholas (North Dorset) Faith, Mrs Shelia Lloyd, Peter (Fareham)
Beith, A. J. Fenner, Mrs Peggy Loveridge, John
Bennett, Sir Frederic (Torbay) Finsberg, Geoffrey Luce, Richard
Best, Keith Fisher, Sir Nigel Lyell, Nicholas
Blackburn, John Forman, Nigel Macfarlane, Neil
Blaker, Peter Fowler, Rt Hon Norman McKay, Allen (Penistone)
Boscawen, Hon Robert Fox, Marcus Marshall, Michael (Arundel)
Boyson, Dr Rhodes Gardiner, George (Reigate) Marten, Neil (Banbury)
Brinton, Tim Garel-Jones, Tristan Mather, Carol
Brittan, Leon Goodhart, Philip Maude, Rt Hon Angus
Brooke, Hon Peter Gow, Ian Maxwell-Hyslop, Robin
Browne, John (Winchester) Gray, Hamish Meyer, Sir Anthony
Bryan, Sir Paul Hampson, Dr Keith Milian, Rt Hon Bruce
Carlisle, Rt Hon Mark (Runcorn) Haselhurst, Alan Mills, Iain (Meriden)
Chalker, Mrs. Lynda Havers, Rt Hon Sir Michael Mitchell, R. C. (Solon, Itchen)
Channon, Rt Hon Paul Hayhoe, Barney Monro, Hector
Clark, Hon Alan (Plymouth, Sutton) Haynes, Frank Moore, John
Clarke, Kenneth (Rushcliffe) Heddle, John Morgan, Geraint
Colvin, Michael Hogg, Hon Douglas (Grantham) Morris, Rt Hon Alfred (Wythenshaw)
Cope, John Hooley, Frank Morris, Rt Hon Charles (Openshaw)
Craigen, J. M. (Glasgow, Maryhill) Howe, Rt Hon Sir Geoffrey Neale, Gerrard
Cunningham, George (Islington S) Howell, Rt Hon David (Guildford) Needham, Richard
Davis, Terry (B'rm'ham, Stechford) Howell, Ralph (North Norfolk) Nelson, Anthony
Deakins, Eric Howells, Geraint Neubert, Michael
Dean, Paul (North Somerset) Hunt, David (Wirral) Nott, Rt Hon John
Douglas-Hamilton, Lord James Hurd, Hon Douglas Page, John (Harrow, West)
Douglas-Mann, Bruce Jenkin, Rt Hon Patrick Palmer, Arthur
du Cann, Rt Hon Edward Jopling, Rt Hon Michael Parris, Matthew
Dunn, Robert (Dartford) Joseph, Rt Hon Sir Keith Patten, Christopher (Bath)
Dunwoody, Hon Mrs Gwyneth Kershaw, Anthony Penhaligon, David
Durant, Tony King, Rt Hon Tom Percival, Sir Ian
English, Michael Knight, Mrs Jill Powell, Raymond (Ogmore)
Pym, Rt Hon Francis Speed, Keith Watson, John
Raison, Timothy Speller, Tony Wells, Bowen (Hert'rd & Stev'nage)
Rees, Rt Hon Merlyn (Leeds South) Stanbrook, Ivor Whitelaw, Rt Hon William
Rees, Peter (Dover and Deal) Steel, Rt Hon David Whitney, Raymond
Rhodes James, Robert Stevens, Martin Wickenden, Keith
Ridley, Hon Nicholas Stewart, Ian (Hitchin) Wiggin, Jerry
Rifkind, Malcolm Stradling Thomas, J. Wilson, Gordon (Dundee East)
Roberts, Michael (Cardiff NW) Tebbit, Norman Woolmer, Kenneth
Roberts, Wyn (Conway) Thatcher, Rt Hon Mrs Margaret Young, Sir George (Acton)
Sainsbury, Hon Timothy Townend, John (Bridlington)
St. John-Stevas, Rt Hon Norman Vaughan, Dr Gerard TELLERS FOR THE AYES:
Shepherd, Richard (Aldridge-Br'hills) Waddington, David Mr. Spencer Le Marchant and
Sims, Roger Wakeham, John Mr. Antony Berry
Spearing, Nigel
Body, Richard Page, Rt Hon Sir Graham (Crosby) Winterton, Nicholas
Brown, Michael (Brigg & Sc'thorpe) Powell, Rt Hon J. Enoch (S Down)
George, Bruce Proctor, K Harvey TELLERS FOR THE NOES:
Molyneaux, James Taylor, Teddy (Southend East) Mr. Marcus Kimball and
Murphy, Christopher Wheeler, John Mr. David Crouch

Question accordingly agreed to.