HC Deb 18 February 1980 vol 979 cc169-72

Queen's Recommendation having been signified

Motion made, and Question put, That, for the purposes of any Act of the present Session to amend and supplement the Independent Broadcasting Act 1973, to establish a Broadcasting Complaints Commission and to require consultation between the British Broadcasting Corporation and the Independent Broadcasting Authority about the scheduling of

television programmes in Welsh, it is expedient to authorise—

  1. (a) the payment out of money provided by Parliament of any expenses incurred by the Secretary of State for the purposes of the said Act of the present Session; and
  2. (b) any increase attributable to the provisions of that Act in the sums payable under the said Act of 1973 out of money so provided or out of the Consolidated Fund.—[Lord James Douglas-Hamilton.]

The House divided: Ayes 168, Noes 16.

Division No. 189] AYES [10.10 pm
Alexander, Richard Gummer, John Selwyn Page, Rt Hon Sir R. Graham
Aspinwall, Jack Hamilton, Michael (Salisbury) Parris, Matthew
Baker, Nicholas (North Dorset) Haselhurst, Alan Patten, Christopher (Bath)
Banks, Robert Havers, Rt Hon Sir Michael Patten, John (Oxford)
Beaumont-Dark, Anthony Hawkins, Paul Pattie, Geoffrey
Bendall, Vivian Hawksley, Warren Percival, Sir Ian
Bennett, Sir Frederic (Torbay) Hayhoe, Barney Porter, George
Benyon, W. (Buckingham) Heddle, John Price, David (Eastleigh)
Berry, Hon Anthony Hicks, Robert Proctor, K. Harvey
Best, Keith Hogg, Hon Douglas (Grantham) Raison, Timothy
Biffen, Rt Hon John Hooson, Tom Rathbone, Tim
Blackburn, John Howell, Ralph (North Norfolk) Rees, Peter (Dover and Deal)
Blaker, Peter Hunt, David (Wirral) Rees-Davies, W. R.
Boscawen, Hon Robert Hurd, Hon Douglas Renton, Tim
Braine, Sir Bernard Jessel, Toby Rhodes James, Robert
Bright, Graham Johnson Smith, Geoffrey Rhys Williams, Sir Brandon
Brinton, Tim Jopling, Rt Hon Michael Ridley, Hon Nicholas
Brittan, Leon Kellett-Bowman, Mrs Elaine Roberts, Wyn (Conway)
Brocklebank-Fowler, Christopher Kershaw, Anthony Rossi, Hugh
Brooke, Hon Peter Knight, Mrs Jill Royle, Sir Anthony
Brotherton, Michael Lang, Ian Sainsbury, Hon Timothy
Brown, Michael (Brigg & Sc'thorpe) Langford-Holt, Sir John Shaw, Michael (Scarborough)
Bruce-Gardyne, John Lawrence, Ivan Shelton, William (Streatham)
Bryan, Sir Paul Lawson, Nigel Shepherd, Richard (Aldridge-Br'hills)
Buck, Antony Le Marchant, Spencer Silvester, Fred
Bulmer, Esmond Lennox-Boyd, Hon Mark Sims, Roger
Cadbury, Jocelyn Lester, Jim (Beeston) Speller, Tony
Carlisle, John (Luton West) Lloyd, Peter (Fareham) Spicer, Jim (West Dorset)
Carlisle, Kenneth (Lincoln) Luce, Richard Spicer, Michael (S Worcestershire)
Chalker, Mrs Lynda Macfarlane, Neil Sproat, Iain
Chapman, Sydney McNair-Wilson, Michael (Newbury) Squire, Robin
Colvin, Michael Madel, David Stainton, Keith
Cope, John Marland, Paul Stewart, John (East Renfrewshire)
Cormack, Patrick Marlow, Tony Stradling Thomas, J.
Cranborne, Viscount Marten, Neil (Banbury) Thatcher, Rt Hon Mrs Margaret
Dorrell, Stephen Mates, Michael Thompson, Donald
Dover, Denshore Mather, Carol Thorne, Neil (Ilford South)
Dunn, Robert (Dartford) Maude, Rt Hon Angus Townsend, Cyril D. (Bexleyheath)
Dykes, Hugh Mawby, Ray Trippier, David
Edwards, Rt Hon N. (Pembroke) Maxwell-Hyslop, Robin Viggers, peter
Eggar, Timothy Mellor, David Waddington, David
Eyre, Reginald Meyer, Sir Anthony Wakeham, John
Fairgrieve, Russell Miller, Hal (Bromsgrove & Fedditch) Walker, Bill (Perth & E Perthshire)
Faith, Mrs Sheila Mills, Iain (Meriden) Walker-Smith, Rt Hon Sir Derek
Fenner, Mrs Peggy Moate, Roger Waller, Gary
Fisher, Sir Nigel Morris, Michael (Northampton, Sth) Watson, John
Fletcher-Cooke, Charles Morrison, Hon Charles (Devizes) Wells, John (Maidstone)
Fowler, Rt Hon Norman Morrison, Hon Peter (City of Chester) Wells, Bowen (Hert'rd & Stev'nage)
Gardiner, George (Reigate) Murphy, Christopher Wheeler, John
Garel-Jones, Tristan Myles, David Whitelaw, Rt Hon William
Glyn, Dr Alan Neale, Gerrard Wickenden, Keith
Goodhew, Victor Needham, Richard Wiggin, Jerry
Gorst, John Nelson, Anthony Winterton, Nicholas
Gow, Ian Newton, Tony
Gray, Hamish Normanton, Tom TELLERS FOR THE AYES:
Griffiths, Peter (Portsmouth N) Nott, Rt Hon John Mr. John MacGregor and
Grist, Ian Onslow, Cranley Lord James Douglas-Hamilton.
Grylls, Michael
Alton, David Grimond, Rt Hon J. Steel, Rt Hon David
Anderson, Donald Howells, Geraint White, Frank R. (Bury & Radcliffe)
Bennett, Andrew (Stockport N) Parry, Robert
Cryer, Bob Pavitt, Laurie TELLERS FOR THE NOES:
English, Michael Roberts, Ernest (Hackney North) Mr. Clement Freud and
Flannery, Martin Ross, Stephen (Isle of Wight) Mr. D. E. Thomas.
George, Bruce Sheerman, Barry

Question accordingly agreed to.

    1. cc171-2
    2. BROADCASTING 149 words