HC Deb 17 January 1979 vol 960 cc1836-8

Motion made, and Question put,

That the House of Commons (Redistribution of Seats) Bill may be proceeded with at this day's sitting, though opposed, until any hour. —[Mr. Shape.]

The House divided: Ayes 162, Noes 32.

Noble, Mike Sever, John Weatherill, Bernard
Oakes, Gordon Shepherd, Colin Weetch, Ken
Ogden, Eric Snape, Peter White, James (Pollok)
Page, John (Harrow West) Spriggs, Leslie Whitehead, Phillip
Paisley, Rev Ian Stanbrook, Ivor Whitlock, William
Palmer, Arthur Stewart, Rt Hon M. (Fulham) Williams, Alan Lee (Hornch'ch)
Park, George Taylor, Mrs Ann (Bolton W) Wilson, William (Coventry SE)
Powell, Rt Hon J.Enoch Tinn, James Winterlon, Nicholas
Radice, Giles Torney, Tom Woof, Robert
Ridley, Hon Nicholas Urwin, T.W. Wrigglesworth, Ian
Robertson, George (Hamilton) Varley, Rt Hon Eric G. Young, David (Bolton E)
Roderick, Caerwyn Wainwright, Edwin (Dearne V)
Rooker, J.W. Walker, Terry (Kingswood) TELLERS FOR THE AYES:
Roper, John Ward, Michael Mr. Ted Graham and
Ross, William (Londonderry) Watkins, David Mr. Alf Bates.
Rowlands, Ted
Beith, A. J. Madden, Max Skinner, Dennis
Canavan, Dennis Mahon, Simon Smith, Cyril (Rochdale)
Corbett, Robin Maynard, Miss Joan Stallard, A.W.
Cryer, Bob Mikardo, Ian Steel, Rt Hon David
Ellis, John (Brigg & Scun) O'Halloran, Michael Thorne, Stan (Preston South)
Fitt, Gerard (Belfast W) Ovenden, John White, Frank R.(Bury)
Flannery, Martin Page, John (Harrow West) Wise, Mrs Audrey
Fletcher, Ted (Darlington) Parry, Robert Woodall, Alec
Home Robertson, John Penhaligon, David
Latham, Arthur (Paddington) Richardson, Miss Jo TELLERS FOR THE NOES:
Litterick, Tom Rodgers, George (Chorley) Mr.Kevin McNamara and
Loyden, Eddie Ross, Stephen (Isle of Wight) Mr.Ron Thomas.

Question accordingly agreed to.

Back to