HC Deb 24 February 1975 vol 887 cc21-3 Chairman: Sir Kirby Laing, JP, MA, C.Eng, FICE. Immediate Past-President, Institution of Civil Engineers; Chairman, the Laing Group of Companies. Vice-Chairman: G. L. Hargreaves, BSc, C.Eng, FICE. Consultant to Department of Energy; Chairman Offshore Installations Technical Advisory Committee; Chairman, BSI Code of Practice Committee. Consultants, Sir Ralph Freeman, CVO, CBE, MA, C.Eng, FICE. Past-President, Institution of Civil Engineers; Senior Partner, Freeman Fox & Partners; Chairman, Offshore Structures Committee, Association of Consulting Engineers. L. R. Creasy, CB, OBE, BSc, C.Eng, FIStructE, FICE. Immediate Past-President, Institution of Structural Engineers; Consultant, Alan Marshall & Partners: Former Director of Civil Engineering Development, PSA, DoE. Construction Industry: John A. Derrington, BSc, DIC, C.Eng, FIStructE, FICE. Head of Design Group, Sir Robert McAlpine & Sons; Vice President, Institution of Structural Engineers; Past-President, the Concrete Society. J. C. Chapman, PhD, C.Eng. FIStructE, FICE, FRINA. Technical Director, George Wimpey & Co. Ltd; Former Director, Constructional Steel Reseach & Development Organisation (CONSTRADO); Council member, IStructE; formerly Reader, Imperial College of Science and Technology; Consultant to British Ship Research Assn, and various ship owners. Research and Development: A. R. Collins, MBE, DSc, C.Eng, FIStructE, FICE, Past President, Institution of Structural Engineers; Director Construction Industry Research & Information Association; Member, British National Committee for Ocean Eng.; Member, Oceanic Affairs Committee. R. E. Rowe. MA(Cantab), ScD, C.Eng, FlStructE, FICE, Hon. Officer, Institution of Structural Engineers; Director, Research & Development Division, Cement & Concrete Association; Member of various Concete Society Committees. Department of Energy: C. H. Hunt, BSc, FIMechE, MIEE, FlProdE. Offshore Supplies Office. P. D. Atkinson, BScTech, Petroleum Production Division. Certifying Authorities: T. A. Lamlough, BSc, C.Eng, FRINA. Head of Ocean Engineering Department. Lloyd's Register of Shipping. Oil Companies: T. E. Pitkethly. General Manager, Engineering Department, BP Ltd.

Terms of Reference:

  1. (i) Advise on specific problems referred to the Committee by the Secretary of State, Department of Energy.
  2. 23
  3. (ii) Draw attention to other problems known to, or brought to the attention of members of the Committee.
  4. (iii) Identify and define tasks beyond the capacity of the Committee, e.g. research projects, and make recommendations for their execution.

The Committee in the first place should concentrate on:

  1. (a) Making detailed recommendations on how the Offshore Installations (Construction and Survey) Regulations and Departmental guidance notes should be carried out.
  2. (b) Considering whether these regulations and/or guidance notes can be further improved.
  3. (c) Considering by what further means increased British participation in the design, construction and certification of offshore structures can be promoted.